Resources for Students | Resources for Faculty | Facilities | Advisory Committees

 Home

 Staff

 
Affiliated

 Faculty

 Research

 Education

 Publications

 Seminar

 Series

 Collaborators

 Employment



Affiliated Faculty

Matt Baker, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
mbaker@umbc.edu
Watershed ecology, riparian ecosystems, analysis of ecological thresholds in response to environmental change, quantitative approaches in ecosystem/landscape ecology, watershed hydrology and biogeochemistry

Dawn Biehler,
Assistant Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
dbiehler@umbc.edu
Historical geography of environmental health in US cities, environmental justice, social geography, housing, human-animal interactions

Lee Blaney, Assistant Professor, Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering

blaney@umbc.edu
Fate and transport of emerging contaminants in natural and engineered systems


Brian Bradley
, Professor, Biological Science
bbradley@umbc.edu

Diagnostic and environmental proteomics, in particular the expression of specific sets of proteins in response to environmental conditions

Alan Berkowitz
, Scientist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
berkowitza@ecostudies.org

Dan Bailey, Director, Imaging Research Center and Professor of Visual Arts
bailey@umbc.edu
Real-time interactive visualizations

Timothy Brennan
, Professor, Public Policy
brennan@umbc.edu

Mark Bulmer, Research Assistant Professor, JCET and Affiliate Assistant Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
mbulmer@jcet.umbc.edu
Volcanology and landslide research

Lynn Cazabon, Associate Chair and Associate Professor of Art, Department of Visual Arts
cazabon@umbc.edu
Photography; "Uncultivated" project

Erle Ellis, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
ece@umbc.edu
Biogeochemistry, landscape ecology, managed ecosystems

Scott Farrow, Professor, Economics
farrow@umbc.edu
Industrial organization, environmental economics, and risk analysis

Aryya Gangopadhyay, Professor and Chair, Information Systems
gangopad@umbc.edu

Upal Ghosh,  Professor, Chemical, Biochemical amd Environmental Engineering
ughosh@umbc.edu
Physicochemical and biological processes related to organic chemicals in the environment, water quality, contaminated sediments remediation, site risk assessment

Peter Groffman, Senior Scientist, Cary Institute for Ecosystem Studies and Adjunct Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
groffmanp@ecostudies.org
Terrestrial microbial ecology, dynamics of microbial processes at the landscape level, nutrient cycling and transformation of environmental pollutants in wetlands, forests, and agroecosystems and groundwater


Christopher Hennigan, Assistant Professor,
Chemical, Biochemical amd Environmental Engineering
hennigan@umbc.edu
Sources, transformation, and fate of pollutants in the atmosphere

Raymond M. Hoff, Professor, Physics and Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
hoff@umbc.edu
Use of LIDAR to measure gaseous components of the atmosphere and wind-borne aerosols


Quintaniay Holifield, Research Soil Scientist, USDA Forest Service
Forest soil chemistry, Nutrient cycling, Soil microbiology

Laura Hungerford, Professor, University of Maryland Medical School, Dept of Epidemiology
LHUNGERF@epi.umaryland.edu

Vandana Janeja, Assistant Professor, Information Systems
vjaneja@umbc.edu

Spatial data mining, anomaly detection, disease informatics, data mining for e-government and homeland security applications


Sujay Kaushal, Associate Professor, U MD, College Park
skaushal@umd.edu
Ecosystem ecology, land use/climate change, restoration ecology, low impact development, environmental applications of isotopic tracers, organic matter dynamics, aquatic ecosystems, paleoecology.

William LaCourse, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

David Lansing, Assistant Professor,
Geography and Environmental Systems
dlansing@umbc.edu
Human/environment interactions; political economy of climate change; environmental policy; agrarian change; social theory


Jeff W. Leips, Professor, Biological Science
leips@umbc.edu
Molecular/organismal ecology, molecular biol/genetics, ecology/environmental biology


Virginia McConnell, Professor, Economics
mcconnel@umbc.edu
Environmental economics, regional economics

Andrew J. Miller, Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
miller@umbc.edu
Fluvial geomorphology, flood hydrology, urban hydrology

Nagaraj Neerchal, Professor and Chair, Statistics and Mathematics
nagaraj@math.umbc.edu
Time series analysis, overdispersion models, environmental statistics, data analysis

Kevin Omland, Professor, Biological Science
omland@umbc.edu
Evolution, molecular systematics, avian behavior/ecology

Steward Pickett, Distinguished Senior Scientist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies and Adjunct Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
picketts@ecostudies.org
The role of spatial heterogeneity in community and landscape structure and dynamics; urban ecosystems, function of landscape boundaries, plant community succession

Brian E. Reed, Professor and Chair, Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering
reedb@umbc.edu
Sorption of organics/inorganics, surface chemistry, separation processes, water and wastewater treatment, soil and site remediation, pollution prevention/waste minimization, stormwater management

Stuart S. Schwartz, Senior Scientist, CUERE
ss@umbc.edu
Water resource systems analysis; urban hydrology; water policy

John Rennie Short, Professor, Public Policy
jrs@umbc.edu
Globalization, urban issues, environmental concerns and history of cartography

Chris Swan, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
cmswan@umbc.edu
Stream community and ecosystem ecology; relating biodiversity of riparian trees to stream food webs; mosquito management in stormwater detention ponds; impact of invasive Hemlock Woolly Adelgid infestation on stream ecosystems.

Junmei Tang, Assistant Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
junmei@umbc.edu

Geographic Information Systems, remote sensing, urban landscape ecology, resource management, environmental modeling

Claire Welty, Professor, Chemical, Biochemicalm and Environmental Engineering and Director, Center for Urban Environmental Research and Education
weltyc@umbc.edu
Mathematical modeling of groundwater flow and transport in aquifers; design and analysis of field-scale hydraulic and tracer tests; water resource systems management and analysis; watershed hydrology; impacts of urbanization on water resources; pathogen transport in the environment

Eric Zeemering, Assistant Processor, Public Policy
zeem@umbc.edu
Intergovernmental management; urban and local policy and management; urban sustainability and economic development; public management; elections and representation; qualitative methods


Electronic Directory | Directions | Site Map

 

Modified 9/29/12
Feedback/
Corrections

Center for Urban Environmental Research and Education

UMBC,  Technology Research Center 102

1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, Maryland 21250

Phone:410-455-1763  Fax: 410-455-1769  Email: cueremail@umbc.edu