UMBC: An Honors University in Maryland  
Site Map Calendar Map Computing Library Directories  

Regents and Presidential Awards - 2003

UMBC is proud to acknowledge the faculty and staff profiled below who have received Presidential and Board of Regents Awards in 2003. The university community is invited to attend UMBC's 37th Anniversary Opening on Friday, September 5 (1 p.m., University Center Ballroom). Recipients of Board of Regents Awards will be acknowledged at this event, and the Presidential Awards to faculty and staff will be presented to the honorees.

Click on the names to view an extended description of the award and recipient.

Presidential Research Professor, 2003-2006
J. Kevin Eckert, professor of sociology and anthropology. A prominent scholar in the field of gerontology, Eckert is co-director of UMBC’s doctoral program in gerontology. His most recent book, Assisted Living: Needs, Practices, and Policies in Residential Care for the Elderly, has been praised as one of the largest, most comprehensive studies of residential care/assisted living ever undertaken.
Presidential Teaching Professor, 2003-2006
Alan S. Rosenthal, associate professor of modern languages and linguistics. Whether teaching French 101 or a seminar for master’s degree students, Rosenthal is regarded as one of UMBC’s best teachers: passionate about his subject, innovative in his teaching methods, and fascinating in the sweep and rich detail of his lectures. A member of the faculty for more than 25 years, he also developed a groundbreaking textbook, Objectif France, and contributed to UMBC’s award-winning France-TV Magazine.
Presidential Distinguished Professional Staff Award Winner, 2003-2004
Charles R. Brown, athletic director. Under his leadership, UMBC’s athletic, recreation, and physical education programs have flourished; campus athletic facilities have been expanded and upgraded; and student-athletes are held to high academic standards. His most recent achievement, moving the Retrievers into the NCAA America East conference, brings UMBC greater visibility throughout the northeast.
Presidential Classified Staff Employee of the Year, 2003-2004
Jane L. Gethmann, coordinator of the student affairs office in the Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering. “Jane has been a dynamo,” says her department chair. “She is the ‘go to’ person that everyone gravitates toward to get things done,” adds a colleague. “More importantly, she respects the dignity and worth of every individual that she interacts with, regardless of their roles or status.”
  President’s Commission for Women Award
Anne Brodsky, associate professor of psychology and affiliate faculty, women’s studies.
“Anne Brodsky is an outstanding researcher and scholar and a dedicated teacher,” says Carlo DiClemente, chair of the Department of Psychology. “Her contribution of her latest book, With All Our Strength, is only the last in a series of wonderful contributions to UMBC. She was one of the first faculty mentors for the office of residential life, is active in promoting women’s studies on campus, has co-developed a diversity course within our department and has contributed to a UMBC-Casey Foundation joint study program.”
Board of Regents Faculty Award for Excellence in Research
Govind Rao, professor and chair, chemical and biochemical engineering. A founding member of his department, Rao has helped build its international reputation. His cutting-edge research in the area of sensors and instrumentation includes practical applications of fluorescence sensing technology – for example, a dime-sized implant that can be scanned with a laser and used to measure glucose levels in diabetics.
  Board of Regents Faculty Award for Excellence in Public Service
E. Wendy Saul, former professor, education. While well-known for her work promoting science literacy and active learning though the National Science Foundation-funded Elementary Science Integration Project, Saul also has given selflessly of her time and abilities in an international arena. Since 1997, she has volunteered with the Reading and Writing for Critical Thinking project, where she has traveled to Lithuania and Azerbaijan, living under difficult conditions for extended periods of time while working as an expert teacher trainer. Saul has accepted an appointment at The University of Missouri, St. Louis.
Board of Regents Staff Award for Excellence
Ramona V. Arthur, director of Off-Campus Student Services. Arthur has been instrumental in helping commuter students have meaningful connections both on campus and in the off-campus communities where they live. She is especially known for engaging students in service-learning opportunities, from Red Cross blood drives to Habitat for Humanity projects, and has been particularly active in connecting UMBC students as mentors to young students in local schools.
Board of Regents Staff Award for Excellence
Gregory L. Bagwell, postal services supervisor. A roving goodwill ambassador for UMBC, Bagwell “gives 200% every day” to a job and the campus that he loves, overseeing all operations for the UMBC mailroom and supervising a staff of four. He is widely known and highly respected on campus for both his exceptional customer service and his contagious, positive attitude.
Board of Regents Staff Award for Excellence
Andrea Spratt, assistant director of the Learning Resources Center. A mathematics educator, Spratt is committed to students’ academic success. Throughout the course of more than a dozen years at UMBC, she been praised by both students and their parents and by faculty and staff for her ability to listen carefully and to tailor interventions – from individual tutoring to class instruction and program design – to meet each student’s needs.

Click on the names to view an extended description of the award and recipient