UMBC: An Honors University in Maryland
 

 






Charles J. Bieberich
Professor
Developmental biology, genetics, transgenic approaches to study gene function, human disease mechanisms
bieberic@umbc.edu

Daphne D. Blumberg
Associate Professor
Developmental biology, cell biology, molecular biology, controls regulating developmental gene expression
blumberg@umbc.edu

Rachel Brewster
Assistant Professor
Developmental biology, neuroscience, genetics, molecular and cell biology
brewster@umbc.edu

Mauricio M. Bustos
Associate Professor
Plant molecular biology, regulation of maturation-specific genes in a large-seeded legume
bustos@umbc.edu

Steve Caruso
Senior Lecturer
Molecular biology, science education
scaruso@umbc.edu

Lark Claassen
Lecturer
Post-secondary science education, molecular biology
claassen@umbc.edu

Nessly C. Craig
Associate Professor
Molecular biology, cell biology, structure/function of RNA
craig@umbc.edu

Thomas W. Cronin
Professor
Vision science, marine biology, behavioral ecology, visual physiology of invertebrates
cronin@umbc.edu

David M. Eisenmann
Associate Professor
Developmental biology, molecular biology/genetics, cell biology, process of signal transduction during animal development
eisenman@umbc.edu

Ivan Erill
Assistant Professor
Computational biology, evolutionary biology, and molecular biology and genetics
erill@umbc.edu

Philip J. Farabaugh
Professor
Molecular biology/genetics, structure/function of RNA, mechanism frameshifting in a lower eukaryote
farabaug@umbc.edu

Esther Fleischmann
Senior Lecturer
Human anatomy and physiology
fleischm@umbc.edu

Stephen J. Freeland
Associate Professor
Evolutionary theory, molecular evolution, evolutionary genetics, computational biology, bioinformatics
freeland@umbc.edu

Maricel Kann
Assistant Professor
Computational Biology
mkann@umbc.edu

Reagan Lake
Lecturer
Animal physiology, science education
lake1@umbc.edu

Jeff W. Leips
Associate Professor
Molecular and organismal ecology, molecular biology/genetics, ecology and environmental biology
leips@umbc.edu

Sarah Leupen
Lecturer
leupen@umbc.edu

Weihong Lin
Assistant Professor
Neuroscience
weihong@umbc.edu

Lasse Lindahl
Professor
Molecular biology/genetics, structure/function of RNA, ribosome synthesis
lindahl@umbc.edu

Bernard Lohr
Assistant Professor
blohr@umbc.edu

Paul S. Lovett
Professor Emeritus
Molecular biology/genetics, structure/function of RNA
lovett@umbc.edu

Hua Lu
Assistant Professor
Cell biology, molecular biology and genetics, and plant biology
hualu@umbc.edu

Bryan MacKay
Senior Lecturer
Photosynthesis; conservation
mackay@umbc.edu

Patricia McGraw
Associate Professor
Molecular biology/genetics, cell biology, structure/function of RNA,  inositol
mcgraw@umbc.edu

Tamra Mendelson
Associate Professor
Evolutionary biology, molecular biology and genetics
tamram@umbc.edu

Stephen Miller
Associate Professor
Plant developmental biology, molecular genetics, evolution
stmiller@umbc.edu

Kevin E. Omland
Associate Professor
Evolution, molecular systematics, avian behavior/ecology
omland@umbc.edu

Michael C. O'Neill
Associate Professor
Genetic regulation, computational methods for determining essential subregions of DNA binding sites
moneill@umbc.edu

Suzanne Ostrand-Rosenberg
Professor
Immunology, cell biology, molecular biology, genetics, improving the generation of tumor-specific immunity in tumor-bearing individuals
srosenbe@umbc.edu

Phyllis R. Robinson
Professor
Neurosciences, vision science, signal transduction, how information in the environment is transformed into an appropriate biological signal
probinso@umbc.edu

James W. Sandoz
Senior Lecturer
Microbiology; genetics
sandoz@umbc.edu

Harold J. Schreier
Associate Professor
Molecular biology/genetics, regulation of gene expression in the Gram-positive spore forming bacterium, Bacillus subtilis
schreier@umbi.umd.edu

Phillip G. Sokolove
Professor
Circadian rhythms, molluscan hormones, science education
sokolove@umbc.edu

Michelle Starz-Gaiano
Assistant Professor
Cell biology, developmental immunology, molecular biology and genetics
starz@umbc.edu

Cynthia Wagner
Lecturer
cwagner@umbc.edu

G. Rickey Welch
Professor
Theoretical biochemistry and the history of biology
welch@umbc.edu

Julie B. Wolf
Senior Lecturer
Molecular biology
jwolf@umbc.edu

Richard E. Wolf, Jr.
Professor
Molecular biology/genetics, gene regulation, structure/function of RNA Escherichia coli
wolf@umbc.edu

July 1, 2011

 

©2001 University of Maryland, Baltimore County • 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250 (410) 455-1000 • email questions/comments

Calendar | Map | Computing | Library | Directories | About UMBC | Site Map | Academics & Research
Undergraduate Admissions | Graduate & Professional | Arts & Athletics | Resources For
News & Events | myUMBC | Search | About this Site