UMBC: An Honors University in Maryland
 

 






Bradley R. Arnold
Associate Professor
Physical chemistry: Application of time-resolved polarized spectroscopy
barnold@umbc.edu

C. Allen Bush
Professor
Chemical structure and three-dimensional conformation of complex carbohydrates of glycoproteins and polysaccharides of the cell surface using biophysical methods such as NMR spectroscopy, circular dichroism and molecular modeling
bush@umbc.edu

Tara Carpenter
Senior Lecturer
carpent@umbc.edu

Brian M. Cullum
Associate Professor
Development of optical sensors and optical sensing techniques for biomedical and environmental research
cullum@umbc.edu

Marie-Christine Daniel
Assistant Professor
Development of nanocarriers as multifunctional drug delivery systems for chemotherapeutic treatment of cancers
mdaniel@umbc.edu

James C. Fishbein
Professor
Mechanisms of organic reactions in acqueous solutions: generation and study of reactive intermediates, particularly those involved in nitrosamine and sitrosamide carcinogenesis; chemical toxicology
jfishbei@umbc.edu

Elsa Garcin
Assistant Professor
Structural biology, protein post-translational modifications, cardiovascular disease, conformational changes
egarcin@umbc.edu

Chris Geddes
Professor
geddes@umbc.edu

Tiffany Gierasch
Lecturer
gierasch@umbc.edu

Diana Hamilton
Lecturer
hamilton@umbc.edu

Richard L. Karpel
Professor
Nucleic acid helix-destabilizing proteins; protein-nucleic acid interactions, retroviral structural proteins
karpel@umbc.edu

Lisa A. Kelly

Associate Professor
Mechanistic investigations of visible-light induced redox reactions using laser flash photolysis techniques with particular emphasis on developing synthetic chemical assemblies which efficiently undergo chemical redox reactions with biological substrates
lkelly@umbc.edu

William R. LaCourse
Professor and Chair
Development and application of Pulsed Electrochemical Detection systems
lacourse@umbc.edu

Joel F. Liebman
Professor
Strained organic compounds and their energetics, gaseous ions, noble gas and fluorine chemistry, mathematical and quantum chemistry
jliebman@umbc.edu

Stephen Mang
Lecturer
smang@umbc.edu

H. Mark Perks
Senior Lecturer
Organic and environmental chemistry
perks@umbc.edu

Ralph M. Pollack
Professor Emeritus
The chemistry of enols, enzyme mechanisms and model systems for enzymes
pollack@umbc.edu

Marcin Ptaszek
Assistant Professor
Development of new, fluorescent probes for in vivo imaging, and their applications for cancer diagnosis
mptaszek@umbc.edu

Katherine L. Seley-Radtke
Professor
Design and synthesis of nucleoside/nucleotide and heterocyclic enzyme inhibitors for use as medicinal agents
kseley@umbc.edu

Paul J. Smith
Associate Professor
Bioorganic and physical organic chemistry; biomimetic catalysis, DNA structure and DNA binding by small molecules
pjsmith@umbc.edu

Michael F. Summers
Professor
Elucidation of structural, dynamic, and thermodynamic features of metallobiomolecules utilizing advanced multi-dimensional and multi-nuclear NMR methods
summers@hhmi.umbc.edu

Ian Thorpe
Assistant Professor
ithorpe@umbc.edu

Allison Tracy
Lecturer
atracy@umbc.edu

Dale L. Whalen
Professor Emeritus
Reaction of the carcinogenic polycyclic aromatic carbon epoxides, organic reaction mechanisms
whalen@umbc.edu

July 1, 2011

 

©2001 University of Maryland, Baltimore County • 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250 (410) 455-1000 • email questions/comments

Calendar | Map | Computing | Library | Directories | About UMBC | Site Map | Academics & Research
Undergraduate Admissions | Graduate & Professional | Arts & Athletics | Resources For
News & Events | myUMBC | Search | About this Site