UMBC: An Honors University in Maryland
 

 






Tülay Adali
Professor
Statistical signal processing, neural computation, adaptive signal processing, biomedical data analysis (functional MRI, PET, CR, ECG, and EEG), bioinformatics, and communications
adali@umbc.edu

Ryan Bergeron
Lecturer
rberge1@umbc.edu

Dawn Block
Lecturer
Computer science education, UNIX, programming languages
dblock@umbc.edu

Gary M. Carter
Professor
Optoelectronics, coherent optical communications, mode-locked diode lasers, novel frequency doubled diode lasers, erbium doped fiber lasers and amplifiers, bio-sensors, analog fiber optic systems
carter@umbc.edu

Chein-I Chang
Professor
Information theory and coding, data compression, array processing, signal detection and estimation, image processing, medical imaging, remote sensing multispectral and hyperspectral image processing, computer machine vision, pattern recognition, data sensor fusion, neural networks
cchang@umbc.edu

Richard Chang
Associate Professor
Computational complexity theory, structural complexity, analysis of algorithms
chang@umbc.edu

Yung-Jui Chen
Professor
Terabit optical networks, integrated optics and optoelectronics, optical and electronic properties of materials, ultra-short optical pulse spectroscopy, bio-sensors and biomedical engineering
ychen@umbc.edu

Fow-Sen Choa
Professor
Optoelectronic devices design, fabrication, and characterization, III-V compound semiconductor material growth and processing, high density WDM systems and networks, fiber optics sensors
choa@umbc.edu

Marie desJardins
Professor
Machine learning, intelligent planning and scheduling, multiagent systems, artificial intelligence, adaptive tutoring
mariedj@cs.umbc.edu 

Susan Evans
Lecturer
CS education, electronic document processing, programming languages
bogar@umbc.edu

Timothy Finin
Professor
Artificial intelligence, knowledge representation and reasoning, knowledge and database systems, natural language processing, intelligent agents
finin@umbc.edu

Richard Forno
Lecturer

Dennis Frey
Lecturer
Real-time transaction processing systems
dennis@umbc.edu

Anthony Johnson
Professor
Ultrafast optics & optoelectronics -- the ultrafast photophysics and nonlinear optical properties of bulk, nanoclustered and quantum well semiconductor structures, ultrashort pulse propagation in fibers and high-speed lightwave systems
amj@umbc.edu

Anupam Joshi
Professor
Networked/distributed and mobile computing, data/web mining, multimedia databases, computational intelligence and multi-agent systems, scientific computing
ajoshi@umbc.edu

Konstantinos Kalpakis
Associate Professor
Digital libraries, electronic commerce, databases, multimedia, parallel and distributed computing, and combinatorial optimization
kalpakis@umbc.edu

Hilol Kargupta
Professor
Distributed and ubiquitous data mining, gene expression, genetic algorithms and evolutionary systems, intelligent agent based software systems, artificial intelligence, biological models of computation, optimization
hillol@cs.umbc.edu

Charles LaBerge
Lecturer
efclaberge@umbc.edu

Samuel J. Lomonaco
Professor
Quantum computation, algebraic coding theory, cryptography, numerical and symbolic computation, analysis of algorithms, applications of topology to physics, knot theory and 3-manifolds, algebraic and differential topology, differential geometry, Lie groups
lomonaco@umbc.edu

Curtis R. Menyuk
Professor
Light propagation, optical fiber communications and switching, solid state device simulations, non-linear phenomena
menyuk@umbc.edu

Susan M. Mitchell
Lecturer
Programming languages, software development
smitchel@cs.umbc.edu

Reza Mohammadpourrad
Lecturer
reza2@umbc.edu

Tinoosh Mohsenin
Assistant Professor
tinoosh@umbc.edu

Joel M. Morris
Professor
Communications and signal processing, signal detection and estimation, information theory, joint time-frequency/time-scale representations and analysis techniques
morris@umbc.edu

Charles K. Nicholas
Professor
Electronic document processing, software engineering, and intelligent information systems
nicholas@umbc.edu

Sergei Nirenburg
Professor
Natural language processing, artificial intelligence, knowledge-based systems, machine translation, ontological semantics, computational linguistics
sergei@cs.umbc.edu

James T. Oates
Associate Professor
Artificial intelligence, machine learning, robotics, and natural language processing
oates@cs.umbc.edu

Marc Olano
Associate Professor
Software and hardware for interactive computer graphics, procedural shading, realistic and non-realistic rendering
olano@cs.umbc.edu

Chintan A. Patel
Assistant Professor
VLSI design, VLSI device testing, and analog integrated circuits
cpatel2@umbc.edu

Yun Peng
Professor
Artificial intelligence, neural network computing, and medical applications
ypeng@cs.umbc.edu

Dhananjay S. Phatak
Associate Professor
Mobile computing and networks, computer arithmetic algorithms and VLSI realizations, neural networks theory, implementations and applications
phatak@cs.umbc.edu

John T. Pinkston
Professor
Information assurance and security, computer system security and intrusion detection, information theory, coding theory, antennas, and statistical communication theory
pinkston@umbc.edu

Penny Rheingans
Professor
Visualization of data with potential uncertainty, multivariate visualization, dynamic interaction, computer graphics and animation, and the application of perceptual principles to computer graphics and visualization.
rheingan@cs.umbc.edu

Ryan Robucci
Lecturer
robucci@umbc.edu

Zary Segall
Professor
Validation and testing of network quality service, wearable computers, wearable information systems, mobile wireless computing
zary@umbc.edu

Alan T. Sherman
Associate Professor
Security of voting systems, cryptology, information assurance, discrete algorithms

Deepinder P. Sidhu
Professor
Computer networks, distributed systems, distributed and heterogeneous databases, parallel and distributed algorithms, computer and communication security, distributed artificial intelligence, high-performance computing
sidhu@umbc.edu

Krishna M. Sivalingam
Professor
Wireless and mobile networks, sensor networks, optical networking and network security
krishna@umbc.edu

Gymama Slaughter
Assistant Professor
gslaught@umbc.edu

A. Brooke Stephens
Associate Professor
Numerical analysis, combinatorics, resource allocation, optimization
stephens@umbc.edu

Li Yan
Professor
Quantum electronics, ultrashort pulse formation, ultrafast nonlinear optics, general aspects of laser physics
liyan@umbc.edu

Yaacov Yesha
Professor
Parallel computing, computational complexity, algorithms, source coding, speech and image compression
yayesha@umbc.edu

Yelena Yesha
Professor
Distributed systems, database systems, digital libraries, electronic commerce, performance modeling, design tools for optimizing availability in replicated database systems, efficient and highly fault tolerant mutual exclusion algorithms, and analytical performance models for distributed and parallel systems
yeyesha@umbc.edu

Mohamed Farag Younis
Associate Professor
Wireless networks, distributed real-time systems, fault tonerant computing, compiler-based analysis, embedded operating systems
younis@cs.umbc.edu


July 1, 2011

 

©2001 University of Maryland, Baltimore County • 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250 (410) 455-1000 • email questions/comments

Calendar | Map | Computing | Library | Directories | About UMBC | Site Map | Academics & Research
Undergraduate Admissions | Graduate & Professional | Arts & Athletics | Resources For
News & Events | myUMBC | Search | About this Site