UMBC: An Honors University in Maryland
 

 






Zane L. Berge
Professor
Training systems, distance education, computer-mediated communication
berge@umbc.edu

Susan M. Blunck
Clinical Associate Professor
Science education, curriculum, systemic reform, professional development
blunck@umbc.edu

Barbara J. Bourne
Clinical Instructor
Field experience, education policy, environmental education
bbourn1@umbc.edu

Jo Ann Crandall
Professor
Language arts, ESOL
crandall@umbc.edu

Jerri Frick
Clinical Instructor
Math education, leadership in math instruction, inquiry as content and pedagogy
frick@umbc.edu

William L. Gray
Lecturer Emeritus
Mathematics education, curriculum
wgray@umbc.edu

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III
Professor
Mathematics education, higher education
hrabowski@umbc.edu

Diane M. Lee
Associate Professor
Human Learning and cognition, hermeneutics, research methods
dlee@umbc.edu

John E. Nelson
Clinical Assistant Professor
ESC teacher education, linguistics, evaluation
nelson@umbc.edu

Cheryl North-Coleman
Assistant Professor
cnorth@umbc.edu

Linda M. Oliva
Clinical Assistant Professor
Educational psychology, instructional technology
oliva@umbc.edu

Mary S. Rivkin
Associate Professor
Early childhood, science education, children's outdoor experiences
rivkin@umbc.edu

Eugene C. Schaffer
Professor
Mentoring, school effectiveness research, professional development schools, at-risk students
schaffer@umbc.edu

Patricia A. Scully
Associate Professor
Early-childhood education, literacy education
pscull1@umbc.edu

Nancy Shelton
Associate Professor
Writing theory and pedagogy, elementary literacy
nshelton@umbc.edu

Joan Kang Shin
Clinical Assistant Professor
ESOL/billingual education
jshin2@umbc.edu

Sarah J. Shin
Professor
ESOL/bilingual education
shin@umbc.edu

Jonathan Singer
Associate Professor
jsinger@umbc.edu

Sue Small
Clinical Associate Professor
Professional development coordinator
small@umbc.edu

Gregory Williams
Clinical Associate Professor

David B. Young
Associate Professor Emeritus
Supervision and instruction, curriculum
dbyoung@umbc.edu

Patricia A. Young
Associate Professor
Literacy and technology, culture in instructional technology and design
pyoung@umbc.edu



November 4, 2010

 

©2001 University of Maryland, Baltimore County • 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250 (410) 455-1000 • email questions/comments

Calendar | Map | Computing | Library | Directories | About UMBC | Site Map | Academics & Research
Undergraduate Admissions | Graduate & Professional | Arts & Athletics | Resources For
News & Events | myUMBC | Search | About this Site