UMBC: An Honors University in Maryland
 

 



MODERN LANGUAGES, LINGUISTICS AND INTERCULTURAL COMMUNICATION


Nicoleta Bazgan
Assistant Professor
French cinema studies, French language and popular culture
nbazgan@umbc.edu

Alan S. Bell
Professor
Modern Spanish literature, language teaching methodology
abell@umbc.edu

William Brown
Lecturer
Chinese language, literature and culture
wbrown@umbc.edu

Felix Burgos
Visiting Lecturer
fburgos1@umbc.edu

Maria Coyne
Lecturer
Spanish language
mcoyne@umbc.edu

Natalia Curto Garcia-Nieto
Lecturer
Second language acquisition, Spanish
ncurto1@umbc.edu

Marie C. de Verneil
Senior Lecturer
French language, instructional systems development
devernei@umbc.edu

Samir El Omari
Lecturer
Arabic language
samir1@umbc.edu

Zakaria Fatih
Associate Professor
Francophone studies, enlightenment, critical theory, Arabic language
mogador@umbc.edu

Thomas T. Field
Professor
Sociolinguistics, textual analysis, literacy, language maintenance, French and Occitan studies
tfield@umbc.edu

Milvia Hernandez
Lecturer
hemilv1@umbc.edu

Omar Ka
Associate Professor
Sociolinguistics language planning, phonology, African linguistics, French language, Wolof language
ka@umbc.edu

Edward Larkey
Professor
German popular culture, German ethnicity, GDR studies
larkey@umbc.edu

Brigitte Z. May
Senior Lecturer
German language, literature and culture
may@umbc.edu

Stanley McCray
Associate Professor
Historical linguistics, French studies
mccray@umbc.edu

Adriana Medina-López-Portillo
Assistant Professor
Intercultural communication, intercultural training, Mexican cultural studies
medina@umbc.edu

Rosalie E. Messick
Senior Lecturer
Spanish language
remessick@umbc.edu

Ana Oskoz
Associate Professor
Language teaching, methodology, technology in the foreign language classroom, classroom-based assessment
aoskoz@umbc.edu

Sara Z. Poggio
Associate Professor
Sociology, Latin American societies, Hispanics in the U.S.
poggio@umbc.edu

Denis M. Provencher
Associate Professor
French civilization and cultural studies, language, gender and sexuality, conversation and discourse analysis, intercultural communication
provench@umbc.edu

Maria Ines Quiroga Valladares
Lecturer
mariaq1@umbc.edu

Elaine Rusinko
Associate Professor
Russian and Soviet language, literature, culture and society, Carpatho-Rusyn studies
rusinko@umbc.edu

Judith M. Schneider
Associate Professor
Modern French studies and Latin American and U.S. Hispanic literature, and culture, language teaching methodology, French and Latin American Jewish writing
schneide@umbc.ed

Ana María Schwartz
Associate Professor
Language teaching and curriculum development, learning strategies, media, heritage Spanish speakers
aschwart@umbc.edu

Anna Shields
Associate Professor
Classical Chinese
ashields@umbc.edu

Catalina Shorkey
Lecturer
Spanish language
catalina@umbc.edu

John H. Sinnigen
Professor
Modern Spanish and Latin American fiction, ideologies and literature, contemporary Mexico
sinnigen@umbc.edu

Robert A. Sloane
Associate Professor
Golden Age Spanish literature, language teaching methodology
sloane@umbc.edu

John Stolle-McAllister
Associate Professor
Cultural studies, Latin American popular culture, social movements, globalization
stollem@umbc.edu

Susanne Sutton
Lecturer
German language
ssusanne@umbc.edu

Germán F. Westphal
Associate Professor
Generative Syntax linguistics, Spanish language
westphal@umbc.edu

Kyung-Eun Yoon
Lecturer
Korean language and culture, second language acquisition, language and social interaction, conversation analysis
kyoon@umbc.edu

Steven Young
Associate Professor
Historical phonology, Slavic and Baltic linguistics, Russian language
young@umbc.edu


July 1, 2011

 

©2001 University of Maryland, Baltimore County • 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250 (410) 455-1000 • email questions/comments

Calendar | Map | Computing | Library | Directories | About UMBC | Site Map | Academics & Research
Undergraduate Admissions | Graduate & Professional | Arts & Athletics | Resources For
News & Events | myUMBC | Search | About this Site