UMBC: An Honors University in Maryland
 

 






Marina Adler
Associate Professor
Social stratification and inequality; cross-national gender, work and family policy; sociology of women; research methods and statistics
adler@umbc.edu

Henry P. Brehm
Professor Emeritus
Medical Sociology, Sociology of Health care organization and delivery; current issues in health care; disability and rehabilitation; organization, staffing, and reimbursement of health care technology, public and community health
brehm@umbc.edu

Bambi Chapin
Assistant Professor
Psychological Anthropology, Child Development in Socio-Cultural Context, Social and Emotional Relationships, Mental Health and Illness, Trance and Spirit Possession, Sri Lanka and South Asia
bchapin@umbc.edu

Sarah Chard
Assistant Professor
Medical Anthropology, urban health, chronic disease treatment seeking, and anthropology of gender
schard@umbc.edu

Jere M. Cohen
Professor
Sociological theory; peer influences on adolescents; status attainment of veterans of the armed services, sociology of religion, sociology of education, small groups
cohen@umbc.edu

Nicole Cousin-Gossett
Visiting Assistant Professor
cgossett@umbc.edu

J. Kevin Eckert
Professor
Cultural anthropology and gerontology; issues in aging and health; living arrangements for the dependent elderly; social research design and methods, applied anthropology
eckert@umbc.edu

Christopher Hewitt
Professor Emeritus
Homelessness, social violence, including terrorism and rioting; government policies to reduce terrorism; comparisons of social violence in different nations; social inequality
hewitt@umbc.edu

Andrea Kalfoglou
Assistant Professor
Women's health, Public health ethics, reproductive and genetic ethics, research ethics, infertility and assisted reproductive technology, reproduction and mental health
akalfogl@umbc.edu

Ilsa L. Lottes
Associate Professor
Maternal health and child care; sexuality and the family in the U.S. and other nations, research methods, statistics, gender roles
lottes@umbc.edu

Seth D. Messinger
Assistant Professor
Cultural and medical anthropology; psychiatric anthropology; anthropology of North America; trauma
sethm@umbc.edu

Leslie A. Morgan
Professor
Life cycle and the family, especially in later life; family-like environments,such as boarding homes for the frail elderly, women's roles, labor force participation, social change
lmorgan@umbc.edu

Fred L. Pincus
Professor
Diversity, affirmative action, race relations, sociology of education
pincus@umbc.edu

William G. Rothstein
Professor
Social history of medicine, the medical profession and medical education; work, occupations and professions; large-scale organizations.
rothstei@umbc.edu

Robert L. Rubinstein
Professor
Cultural and medical anthropology; anthropology of aging; gerontology; gender; qualitative research methods.
rrubinst@umbc.edu

John G. Schumacher
Assistant Professor
Medical sociology, physician-patient relationships, social gerontology, bioethics, and research methods
jschuma@umbc.edu

Gul Seckin
Assistant Professor
Medical sociology, technology and health communication, gerontology, sociology of trauma and mental health, and also social psychology of terrorism, genocide and ethnic conflicts.
gseckin@umbc.edu

Mary E. Stuart
Professor
Issues in health care; health care organization and delivery; decision support for health policy and management
stuart@umbc.edu

James E. Trela
Associate Professor
Age related behavior and attitudes; economic well being and poverty; political behavior.
trela@umbc.edu

Jeffrey E. Tuer
Lecturer
jtuer@umbc.edu

Zeynep Tufekcioglu
Assistant Professor
zeynep@umbc.edu


July 19, 2010

 

©2001 University of Maryland, Baltimore County • 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250 (410) 455-1000 • email questions/comments

Calendar | Map | Computing | Library | Directories | About UMBC | Site Map | Academics & Research
Undergraduate Admissions | Graduate & Professional | Arts & Athletics | Resources For
News & Events | myUMBC | Search | About this Site