ACTiVATE image bar ACTiVATE image bar ACTiVATE image bar
About Curriculum Application Mentors Partners Contact Home

And the winners are: Top 100 Women announced

March 10, 2006
Editor in Chief

Of this year's Top 100 Women, more than half are first-time winners, while 20 will pick up the annual award for a third time.

Now in its 11th year, The Daily Record's Top 100 Women contest was created to recognize successful female professionals who give back by mentoring others and working in their communities.

The women will be honored at an awards ceremony on Monday, May 8, beginning with a reception at 5 p.m. at the Meyerhoff Symphony Hall. Tickets go on sale March 24.

Those women who have won for a third time join the Circle of Excellence for sustained achievement (three-time winners are identified below by asterisks).

And the winners are

Janet D. Allan

University of Maryland School of Nursing

Susan A. Athey-Oxford

Garrett County Partnership for Children & Families Inc.

Vicki J. Ballou-Watts

Circuit Court for Baltimore County

Cathy S. Bernard

CSB Management Corp.

Sarian S. Bouma

Capitol Hill Building Maintenance Inc.

Catherine J. Boyne

Hospice of Baltimore

Anne T. Brennan

Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP

Alison G. Brown

University of Maryland Medical System

L. Tracy Brown

Women's Law Center of Maryland Inc.

Annie L. Burton-Byrd

Signature Management & Realty LLC

Linda C. Busick

Maryland Commission for Women

Jill P. Carter

Maryland General Assembly

Virginia P. Clagett

Maryland General Assembly

Faye E. Coleman

Westover Consultants Inc.

Charlene H. Cole-Newkirk

College of Southern Maryland

Patricia E. Cornish

PEC Financial Consulting

Lisa H. Covington

SPEAK (Suicide Prevention Education Awareness for Kids)

Jean B. Cryor

Maryland General Assembly

*Isabel M. Cumming

Prince George's County State's Attorney's Office

Alexis P. Dashield

Fruitland Community Center

Kay Dickersin

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Roberta E. Dillow

Consultant & Community Volunteer

Hope B. Eastman

Paley, Rothman, Goldstein, Rosenberg, Eig, Cooper Chtd.

Kendel S. Ehrlich

First Lady of Maryland

Karen B. Evans

The Will and Jada Smith Family Foundation

Lois B. Feinblatt

Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions

Bonnie Fogel

Imagination Stage

Kathryn B. Freeland

RGII Technologies Inc.

Dr. Julie A. Freischlag

Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions

Abby Glassberg

Trammell Crow Co.

*Marilyn R. Goldwater

Maryland General Assembly

*Joan B. Gordon

Bar Association of Baltimore City

*Toby Gordon

Johns Hopkins Medicine

Julia W. Gouge

Carroll County Commissioners

Chickie Grayson

Enterprise Homes Inc.

Ana S. Gutierrez

Maryland General Assembly

Marcia S. Harris

Restaurant Association of Maryland

Dr. Kathy J. Helzlsouer

Mercy Medical Center

Martha N. Hill

Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

Stephanie C. Hill

Lockheed Martin

Betty J. Hines

DMGI Holding and American Skyline Insurance Co.

Ngozi Irondi

Advanced Performance Consulting Group Inc.

Robin M. Jacobs

Maryland Mental Hygiene Administration

Deborah E. Jennings

DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary U.S. LLP

Anne R. Kaiser

Maryland General Assembly

Carol A. Kasper


Ellen L.S. Koplow

Ameritrade Holding Corp.

*Rose G. Krasnow

Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission

Barbara J. Krumsiek

Calvert Group Ltd.

Carolyn J. Krysiak

Maryland General Assembly

Corinna E. Lathan

AnthroTronix Inc.

Susan C. Lee

Maryland General Assembly

*Dorothy J. Lennig

House of Ruth Maryland

Cynthia L. Leppert

Neuberger, Quinn, Gielen, Rubin & Gibber PA

Elizabeth G. Loggia

Elizabeth G. Loggia LLC

*Vicki A. Lucas

Lucas Enterprises

Natalie C. Magdeburger

Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP

*Adrienne A. Mandel

Maryland General Assembly

Vicki Margolis

Venable LLP

Judith A. McHale

Discovery Communications Inc.

Claudia J. Morrell

Center for Women and IT at UMBC

Elise D. Morris

Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP

*Ellen O. Moyer

City of Annapolis

LaFrance K. Muldrow

University of Maryland School of Social Work

Alice Neily Mutch

Capital Consultants; BaySmart Gardening Landscape Co.

*Marie L. Noplock

The Maryland Therapy Network Inc.

*Charlene R. Nunley

Montgomery College

Janet S. Owens

Anne Arundel County

Tracey C. Paliath

Baltimore City Department of Social Services

Melanie C. Pereira

Howard County Department of Corrections

*Marilyn J. Praisner

Montgomery County Council

Vonda B. Rhodes-El

Lockheed Martin Integrated Services & Solutions

*Donna L. Rice

Maryland State Arts Council

*Susan M. Rosenbaum

Howard County Government

Karen H. Rothenberg

University of Maryland School of Law

Shari O. Scher

Frederick County Public Schools

*Linda D. Schwartz

Paley, Rothman, Goldstein, Rosenberg, Eig, Cooper Chtd.

*Robin F. Shaivitz

The Law Offices of Alexander & Cleaver

Anita M. Sheckells


*Lois M. Shofer

Atlantic Group Cos.

Robin Silver

Miles & Stockbridge P.C.

Gwendolyn D. Skillern

CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield Inc.

Sister Sharon M. Slear

The College of Notre Dame of Maryland

Malinda B. Small

Constellation Energy

*Kathleen T. Snyder

Maryland Chamber of Commerce

Ferrier R. Stillman

Tydings & Rosenberg LLP

Marlene Trestman

Office of the Maryland Attorney General

Cynthia P. Truitt


Judith Vaughan-Prather

Montgomery County Commission for Women

Pamela L. Volm

Annapolis Contracting Inc.

*Deborah E. Voso

Voso Financial Advisers LLC

Kimberly L. Wagner

Tritronics Inc.

Y. Maria Welch

Respira Medical Inc.

Mary B. Wieler

The Wieler Family Foundation

Anna M. Williams

Dynamic Families LLC

*Kathryn F. Wolford

Lutheran World Relief

Deborah A. Yancer

Shady Grove Adventist Hospital

Sharon (Sherry) M. Yaniga

Anne Arundel County Public Schools

Lea Ybarra

Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth

Jeanne M. Yeager

Mid-Shore Council on Family Violence