UMBC logo

The Department of American Studies

.
Collage
.

People

Faculty

Theodore S. Gonzalves, Chair, Associate Professor

Ph.D (Comparative Culture), University of California at Irvine

423 Fine Arts Building

410-455-6570

theo@umbc.edu

Tamara Bhalla, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. (English, with a concentration in American Studies), University of Michigan

461 Fine Arts Building

410-455-3254

tbhalla@umbc.edu

Teaching Areas: late 19th and 20th century multi-ethnic literatures, Asian
American studies, feminist theory, multicultural discourse

Research Areas: reader reception theory and criticism, South Asian diasporic literature, Asian American literatures, multicultural discourse, genre analysis, feminist theory, interdisciplinary methodology, ethnographic literary research methods

Advising areas: Communications, Media, and the Arts; Community and Diversity

Kathy Scales Bryan, Associate Chair, Senior Lecturer

Ph.D. (American Studies), University of Maryland, College Park
460 Fine Arts Building
410-455-1351
kbryan@umbc.edu

Teaching areas: education and cultural transmission, childhood and family, cultural and intellectual history

Research interests: education history and policy, curriculum transformation, gender equity in education, cultural conflict and transformation, literature and society

Advising areas: education (including elementary education in social studies); social work; culture and policy; community and diversity

Nicole King, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. (American Studies), University of Maryland, College Park
458 Fine Arts Building
410-455-1457
nking@umbc.edu

Teaching areas: cultural studies, popular culture, media studies, material culture and cultural landscape studies

Research interests: southern studies, travel and tourism, place and identity

Advising areas: communications, media, and the arts; community and diversity; culture and policy

Patrice McDermott, Associate Professor

Ph.D. (American Studies), University of Maryland, College Park
1001 Administration Building

410-455-3150
mcdermot@umbc.edu

Teaching areas: 20th - 21st century cultural history, multicultural and cross-cultural studies, gender studies, identity theory, culture theory

Research interests: discourse analysis, mass media and publishing, sociology of knowledge, contemporary social movements

Advising areas: community and diversity; education; communications, media, and the arts; culture and policy

Kimberly R. Moffitt, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. (Mass Communication), Howard University
459 Fine Arts Building
410-455-1451
kmoffitt@umbc.edu

Teaching areas: popular culture, intercultural communication/ multiculturalism, media studies, sports and entertainment

Research interests: representations of sports stars and sporting events, hair/body politics, media representations of people of African descent

Advising areas: community and diversity; communications, media, and the arts

Warren Belasco, Professor Emeritus

Ph.D. (History), University of Michigan
416 Fine Arts Building

410-455-1425
belasco@umbc.edu

Teaching areas: popular and material culture, cultural history, environmental studies
Research interests: food, future studies, cultural history
Advising areas: communications, media, and the arts; education; culture and policy


W. Edward Orser, Professor Emeritus

Ph.D. (American Studies), University of New Mexico
416 Fine Arts Building
410-455-2107
orser@umbc.edu

Teaching interests: community and urban studies, local history and Baltimore area, 20th - 21st century American society and culture, environmental studies

Research interests: community studies, racial change, environment

Advising areas: community and diversity; education (including secondary education- social studies); social work

Part Time Faculty

Dr. Robyn Epstein

220/439 ACIV

repstein@umbc.edu

Dr. Michael Hummel

422 Fine Arts Building
410-455-2319
hummel1@umbc.edu

Dr. Manouchka Poinson

424 Fine Arts Building

410-455-1314

poinson@umbc.edu

Dr. Dabrina Taylor

422 Fine Arts Building
410-455-2319

dataylor@umbc.edu

Dr. Rita Turner

424 Fine Arts Building

410-455-1314

rita.turner@umbc.edu

Graduate Assistant

Emerald Christopher

422 Fine Arts Building

emerald1@umbc.edu

 

Folklorist in Residence

Dr. Michelle Stefano

422 Fine Arts Building

410-455-2319

ms@umbc.edu
Maryland Traditions @ UMBC

 

Staff

Carol Harmon, Administrative Assistant II

453 Fine Arts Building
410-455-6276
harmon@umbc.edu

Students

American Studies Council of Majors Officers 2011-2012

President -

Vice President -
Secretary -
Treasurer


To keep up to date on the American Studies Council of Major you can join the Facebook page or email Kathy Bryan, Faculty Advisor kbryan@umbc.edu, to be added to the listserve.

.
Visit us on Facebook
The Department of American Studies

1000 Hilltop Circle • 453 Fine Arts Building • Baltimore, Maryland 21250
(410) 455-2106 • (410) 455-1027 fax
american.studies@umbc.edu