LLC News

« Funding: Higher Education for Development Main The Boren Fellowship »

College Dissertation Fellowships

Five College Dissertation Fellowships

Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith colleges and the University of Massachusetts Amherst are members of the Five College consortium, which supports extensive academic and administrative collaborations among the campuses. The five campuses are located in western Massachusetts, each within 12 miles of the others. The Five College Fellowship Program provides year-long residencies at one of the member campuses for doctoral students completing dissertations. The chief goal of the program is to promote diversity in the Academy while familiarizing Fellows with the five institutions. The program’s intention is to support scholars from under-represented groups, and/or scholars with unique interests and histories, whose engagement in the Academy will enrich scholarship and teaching.

Each Fellow is hosted within an appropriate department or program at Amherst College, Hampshire College, Mount Holyoke College or Smith College. (At Smith, recipients hold a Mendenhall Fellowship.) Fellows are provided research and teaching mentors and connected through the consortial office to resources and scholars across the five campuses, which include UMass Amherst. The office also supports meetings of the Fellows throughout the year.

The Fellowship includes a stipend of $30,000, a research grant, health benefits, office space, housing or housing assistance, and library privileges at all five campuses. While the award places primary emphasis on completion of the dissertation, most Fellows teach at the hosting institution, but never more than a single one-semester course.

Date of Fellowship: August 31, 2011 to May 31, 2012 (non-renewable)
Stipend: $30,000
Review of applications begins: January 3, 2011
Awards announced in March 2011

Return the completed application form and forward supporting documents to:

Five Colleges, Incorporated
97 Spring Street
Amherst, MA 01002-232