Read More UMBC News Blog Stories

August 3, 2002


Guenet Abraham and Michelle Renee Scott Receive Henry C. Welcome Fellowships
The Maryland Higher Education Commission has announced that two UMBC professors are among the eleven Maryland faculty members who have received the prestigious 2002 Henry C. Welcome Fellowships: Guenet Abraham, assistant professor of visual arts, and Michelle Renee Scott, assistant professor of history. The fellowship honors the late Dr. Henry C. Welcome, a prominent Baltimore physician who served on the State Board of Higher Education, the predecessor of the Maryland Higher Education Commission. Dr.Welcome was also active in politics and the civil rights movement withhis wife, the late Sen. Verda F. Welcome, the first black woman in theUnited States to be elected a state senator.

Phillip Sokolove Receives Outstanding Faculty Award
The Maryland Association for Higher Education (MAHE) has selected Phillip Sokolove, professor of biological sciences, as the recipient of its 2002 Outstanding Faculty Award. Sokolove was recognized for his innovations in the teaching of Biology 100 and their documented impact on student success. With support from the National Science Foundation, Sokolove showed the benefits of teaching methods that emphasize peer interaction, small collaborative learning groups, whole-class discussions and research papers. The award will be presented at the MAHE fall conference on October 25.

Do you have an achievement to share with the UMBC community? Email

Posted by dwinds1 at August 3, 2002 12:00 AM