Read More UMBC News Blog Stories

February 2, 2003

Eight Former Retriever Greats Enter the UMBC Hall of Fame

Seven former UMBC student-athletes and one former coach, all representing different Retriever sports, were selected to the UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame. The 2003 Dinner and Induction ceremony was held on February 1.

The class of 2003 features Jeff Berman (baseball, 1994-97), David Bobb (track and field, 1994-97), Chris Cain (lacrosse, 1988-91), Chad Cradock (swimming, 1993-97), Michael Meyer (golf, 1992-94), Jim Pfrogner (head cross country/track and field coach, 1971-2000), Darius Taylor (soccer, 1988-91), and Amy Wolff (softball, 1994-97).

Berman was a three-time All Big South First Team selection, earning top honors in 1995 and 1996 at second base and repeating as a shortstop in 1997. He hit .345 for his career, starting all available 173 games. He is currently ranked #1 in UMBC history in games played, at bats, and base hits and is fifth in runs scored.

Bobb is UMBC's most decorated athlete ever, with five All American citations. He placed third in the NCAA Championships in both the 55m and 200m at the 1997 NCAA Indoor Championships and was second in the 100m at the outdoor championships later that year. Bobb, who was the top American sprinter in thenation as a senior, is currently UMBC's head track and field coach.

Cain was a two-time All American who revolutionized the position of long-stick defensive midfielder by stymieing the opposition's top offensive threats and keying offensive transition opportunities. He still owns the UMBC Division I record for ground balls in a career with 294 and led the 1991 team to UMBC's firstwinning record in a decade. Cain competed in the 1991 North-South All Star Classic.

Cradock, UMBC's second-year head swimming coach, was the 1997 ECAC Swimmer of the Year. He set records in the 200, 500 and 1650 freestyle events, and still maintains the latter two. The Canadian native also earned the department's Matt Skalsky Scholar Athlete Award in his senior season and posted his country's top time in the 1650 freestyle at the US Open in 1996.

Meyer is the first Retriever golfer to be selected to the Hall of Fame. He won four tournaments in 1992-93, including the prestigious 1992 ECAC Championship in a playoff with a +4 score of 148. The native of South Africa set a school record scoring average of 75.8 and once held UMBC's 36-hole and 54-hole records.

Coach Pfrogner, who retired in 2001, coached for 30 seasons from 1971-72 through 2000-2001. His last five cross country teams all won Baltimore Metro titles. The Pennsylvania native produced an Olympian in Jean Yves Mallat early in his tenure, an All American cross country athlete in Michael Sterling in the '80's and a five-time All American sprinter in David Bobb in the late 1990's.

Taylor accomplished a very rare feat in intercollegiate athletes. He earned the East Coast Conference's Most Valuable Player Award in 1991…as a sweeper (defender) in men's soccer. He also earned Third Team All South Atlantic honors that year, helping UMBC to a school-record tying 15 victories. He earned the firstRetriever Club Scholarship Award and despite playing defense, finished his collegiate career with 11 goals and 9 assists.

Wolff was a three-time First Team All Big South outfielder for the fledgling softball program. She was named UMBC's Most Outstanding Athlete in 1997, after leading her teams to a combined record of 142-63 and a pair of berths in Big South title games (1994, 1995) in four years. She hit .363 in her career, currently 3rd on UMBC's all-time list, scored 142 runs (2nd) and stole 79 bases (2nd).

UMBC's John Blecheisen and WMAR-TV Sports will receive the Dr. Charles Woolston Award for outstanding service to the UMBC Department of Athletics.

Tickets are $35 and include a ticket to the basketball doubleheader. For additional information, please contact Debbie Franklin at (410) 455-1532.

Posted by dwinds1 at February 2, 2003 12:00 AM