Read More UMBC News Blog Stories

September 16, 2008

President Hrabowski Joins "Higher Education Cabinet" Initiative of New York Times, Chronicle of Higher Education

Group Will Identify, Discuss Critical Issues Facing Colleges and Universities

Mike Lurie

Office: 410-455-6380
Cellphone: 443-695-0262

University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) President Freeman A. Hrabowski, III participated in the inaugural meeting of the new Higher Education Cabinet, a joint venture of the New York Times and the Chronicle of Higher Education that seeks to identify and encourage discussion of the most pressing issues facing colleges and universities.

The cabinet comprises presidents, trustees and other leaders from 76 colleges, universities and higher education associations.

The first meeting was held at the New York Times Building on Sept. 15. New York Times President and Chief Operating Officer Janet L. Robinson and Chronicle of Higher Education Editor Jeffrey Selingo delivered welcoming remarks.

The cabinet discussed a number of important trends and challenges, including assessment processes, distance learning, college affordability and internationalization.

The group will meet in person once a year and hold quarterly meetings via EpsilenTM, an e-learning and meeting platform.

The following leaders in higher education are members of the inaugural Higher Education Cabinet.

Edward L. Ayers, University of Richmond
MaryAnn Baenninger, College of Saint Benedict
Charles R. Bantz, Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
Gretchen M. Bataille, University of North Texas
Douglas Bennett, Earlham College
Robert M. Berdahl, Association of American Universities
Rick Beyer, Olivet College trustee
Al Bowman, Illinois State University
Molly C. Broad, American Council on Education
Bob Bruininks, University of Minnesota
Nancy Cantor, Syracuse University
David G. Carter, Connecticut State University System
John C. Cavanaugh, Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education
Rebecca Chopp, Colgate University
Carol Christ, Smith College
James E. Cofer, University of Louisiana at Monroe
Susan Cole, Montclair State University
France A. Cordova, Purdue University
Patricia Cormier, Longwood University
Joanne V. Creighton, Mount Holyoke College
Deno Curris, American Association of State Colleges and Universities
Warren David, National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
Eroll B. Davis, University System of Georgia
Rosemary DePaolo, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Colin S. Diver, Reed College
Lewis Duncan, Rollins College
Richard Ekman, Council of Independent Colleges
Mark A. Emmert, University of Washington
Daniel Fogel, University of Vermont
Bobby Fong, Butler University
John Fry, Franklin and Marshall College
Robert J. Gaffney, Dowling College
Barbara Gitenstein, The College of New Jersey
Jo Ann Gora, Ball State University
Richard Guarasci, Wagner College
Amy Gutmann , University of Pennsylvania
Catharine B. Hill, Vassar College
Muriel Howard, Buffalo State College
Freeman A. Hrabowski III, UMBC
Rev. John I. Jenkins, University of Notre Dame
Susan Johnston, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges
Thomas Kepple, Juniata College
William E. Kirwan, University System of Maryland
Maria Klawe, Harvey Mudd College
Steven Knapp, The George Washington University
Rick Legon, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges
Susan Lennon, The Women's College Coalition
Anthony Marx, Amherst College
Richard L. McCormick, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Ellen McCulloch-Lovell, Marlboro College
Peter McPherson, National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges (NASULGC)
Charles R. Middleton, Roosevelt University
Fr. Thomas J. O'Hara, C.S.C, King's College
David Oxtoby, Pomona College
Constantine Papadakis, Drexel University
Stuart, Rabinowitz, Hofstra University
Gary, Ransdell, Western Kentucky University
Brian Rosenberg, Macalester College
Richard Rush, CSU Channel Islands
Carol Geary Schneider, Association of American Colleges and Universities
Rich Schneider, Norwich University
Stephen D. Schutt, Lake Forest College
Joel Seligman, University of Rochester
Robert N. Shelton, University of Arizona
David Shi, Furman University
David J. Skorton, Cornell University
Graham Spanier, Pennsylvania State University
Stephen Spinelli Jr., Philadelphia University
Joan Hinde Stewart, Hamilton College
Beverly Daniel Tatum, Spelman College
Ronald R. Thomas, University of Puget Sound
Laura Trombley, Pitzer College
James Votruba, Northern Kentucky University
David Warren, National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
David S. Wolk, Castleton State College
Mark S. Wrighton, Washington University in St. Louis

Posted by mlurie at September 16, 2008 4:38 PM