UMBC logo









College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences



The College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (CNMS) is comprised of five departments and administers close to half the Ph.D. programs at UMBC. Details about these programs can be obtained via the following department links or from links on the UMBC home page.

Biological Sciences - Dr. Philip Farabaugh, Professor and Chair

Chemistry and Biochemistry - Dr. Rich Karpel, Professor and Associate Chair

Mathematics and Statistics - Dr. Nagaraj K. Neerchal, Professor and Chair

Marine Biotechnology
- Dr. Yonathan Zohar, Professor and Chair

Physics - Dr. L. Michael Hayden, Professor and Chair

Center for Space Science and Technology (CSST) - Dr. Ian George, Associate Professor of Physics, Director
CSST is the UMBC part of the Center for Research and Exploration in Space Science and Technology (CRESST) which is a consortium consisting of UMBC, UMCP, and USRA, funded by a cooperative agreement with NASA Goddard Space Flight Center.

Institute of Fluorescence -
Dr. Chris Geddes, Professor and Director

CNMS faculty members receive millions of dollars per year in extramural and other support and many have research programs that are also intimately connected with several of the major research centers at UMBC, including the Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology (JCET), the Goddard Earth Sciences and Technology Center (GEST), the Center for Advanced Study of Photonics Research (CASPR), and the Joint Center for Astrophysics (JCA).

Return to the CNMS home