Educ. Dept. Menu
UMBC logo
UMBC Department of Education
    Faculty Information  
 
Faculty / Staff/ Visitng Faculty

Faculty

 

Contact

Research areas


Department Chair    
Eugene Schaffer, Ed.D.
Chair/Professor

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 418

410-455-2466
schaffer@umbc.edu

Mentoring, School Effectiveness, Professional Development Schools, At Risk Students

Professors
Zane L. Berge, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 431

410-455-2306
berge@umbc.edu
Training Systems, Distance Education, Computer-Mediated Communication

JoAnn Crandall, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 402

410-455-2313
crandall@umbc.edu
Director, LLC/ ESOL, Language Arts

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Ph.D.
President

Profile
Administration Building
Room 1008

410-455-3880
hrabowsk@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Higher Education

Mavis Sanders Ph.D.

Profile

Sherman Hall A,
Room 411

410-455-2738
msanders@umbc.edu
School,Family and Community Engagement, Education Reform and Improvement, Qualitative Research Methods

Sarah J. Shin, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 406

410-455-2485
shin@umbc.edu
Bilingualism, TESOL, Heritage Language Education

Nancy Rankie Shelton, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 432

410-455-1350
nshelton@umbc.edu
Elementary Education, Literacy

Associate Professors
Mary S. Rivkin, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 410

410-455-2259
rivkin@umbc.edu
Early Childhood Education

Patricia A. Scully, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 413

410-455-2307
pscull1@umbc.edu
Early Childhood, Literacy Education

Jonathan Singer, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 418

410-455-3348
jsinger@umbc.edu
Science Education

Patricia A. Young, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 407

410-455-3902
pyoung@umbc.edu
Elementary Education

Associate Clinical Professors
Susan M. Blunck, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 433

410-455-2869
blunck@umbc.edu
Science Education, Curriculum, Systemic Reform, Professional Development

Sue Small, Ed.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 412

410-455-1218
small@umbc.edu
Early Childhood Education

Gregory R. Williams, Ed.D.
Director

Profile
1442 South Rolling Road,
Professional Studies Building, Room U550

443-543-5447
gregw@umbc.edu
ISD-Training Systems Graduate Program

Assistant Professors

Cheryl North-Coleman, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 417

410-455-6522
cnorth@umbc.edu
Secondary, Literacy Education

Christopher Rakes, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 415

410-455-3483
rakes@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Teacher Knowledge, Education Technology

Assistant Clinical Professors
John Nelson, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 407

410-455-2379
jnelson@umbc.edu
ESOL

Linda Oliva, Ed.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 416

410-455-2382
oliva@umbc.edu
Educational Psychology, Instructional Technology, Teacher Research

Joan Kang Shin, Ph.D.
(Professor of Practice)

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 414

410-455-1578
jshin2@umbc.edu
ESOL/Bilingual Education

Clinical Instructors
Barbara Bourne, MA

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 434

410-455-2308
barbara.bourne@umbc.edu
Field Experience, Education Policy, Environmental Education, Arts

Jerri Frick, MEd, MS

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 209A

410-455-1356
frick@umbc.edu
Mathematics Education, Applied Mathematics

Tracy Irish, MS

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 209B

410-455-3050
tirish1@umbc.edu
Science Education, STEM Education, Professional Learning Communities

Mary Tabaa, MA

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 408

410-455-1392
tabaa@umbc.edu
Instructor

Affiliate Professors
Ana Maria Schwartz aschwart@umbc.edu Associate Professor and Chair, MLL

Phillip S. Sokolove, Ph.D, Biology sokolove@umbc.edu Science Education, Neurobiology, Biological Rhythms, Invertebrate Physiology

Full Time Faculty
Pamela Morgan, Ed.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 430

410-455-1218
pwmorgan1@umbc.edu
Director of Field Experiences and Clinical Practice

Vickie Williams, Ph.D.

Profile
Sherman Hall A,
Room 419

410-455-2327
vwilli5@umbc.edu
Director of Student Services

Part-time Instructors

Berge, Nancy nancyberge@verizon.net Instructor

Cole, Dennis dcolesr@umbc.edu Supervisor

Costello, Margaret costello@umbc.edu Instructor and Supervisor

Danna, Sandy dannas@umbc.edu Instructor

Faust, Heidi heidi.faust@umbc.edu Instructor

Fitzhugh, William lfitzh3265@aol.com
wfitzhugh@bcps.org
Instructor

Feldman, Kimberly kfeldman@umbc.edu Instructor and Graduate Assistant

Heller, Valerie valhellah@gmail.com Instructor and Supervisor

Hess-Vait, Carol hessvait@umbc.edu Instructor

Hook, Laura laurahook@hcpss.org Instructor

Howland, Pamela houghtli@umbc.edu Supervisor

Jones, Julie julie_jones@hcpss.org Supervisor

Jordan, Cynthia cjordan@umbc.edu Supervisor

Lollar, Ada ada_lollar@hotmail.com Supervisor

Oaks, Dave droaks@umbc.edu Supervisor

Reamore, Maria mreamore@bcps.k12.md.us Supervisor

Rosen, Sara sarosen@aol.com Supervisor

Stein, Holly hhstein@juno.com Instructor and Supervisor

Wilson-Craig, Esther ewcraig@umbc.edu Instructor

Woodcock-Dang, Synthia swdang@aol.com Supervisor

Click on faculty member's name to view her/his brief biography and contact information.  Click email link to send an email message.

Visiting Scholars
To see the list of visiting scholars Click HERE