Core Faculty

NameEmail Areas of Interest
Jessica Berman, Professor jberman@umbc.edu 20th century narrative; cultural studies; literary and feminist theory
Ryan Bloom, Lecturerrbloom2@umbc.edu Literary translation; creative writing; composition
Helen J Burgess, Associate Professorburgess@umbc.edu Digital humanities; electronic literature; visual literacy; new media authoring
Christopher Corbett, Professor of the Practicecorbett@umbc.edu Journalism; news and feature writing
Lindsay DiCuirci, Assistant Professordicuirci@umbc.edu Colonial/U.S. literature to 1900; periodical publishing; African American literature; women's literary history
Brian Dunnigan, Lecturerbdunni@umbc.edu Composition; subversive literature of race, class and gender
Ralphael Falco, Professorfalco@umbc.edu English Renaissance literature; 20th century American poetry
Michael Fallon, Senior Lecturer fallon@umbc.edu Creative writing; 20th century poetry; American literature
Robin I. Farabaugh, Senior Lecturer rfarabaugh@umbc.edu English Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; fiction writing
Jean Fernandez, Associate Professorjfernand@umbc.edu Victorian Literature; Literature and Empire; narratology, autobiography
Carolyn H. Fitzpatrick, Senior Lecturer; Associate Director, Writing and Rhetoric Division cfitzpat@umbc.edu

American literature; rhetoric and composition

Piotr K. Gwiazda, Associate Professor gwiazda@umbc.edu American literature and culture; modern and contemporary poetry; poetic theory and translation; creative writing
Mary Hickernell, Instructor and Coordinator of the Writing Center hickerne@umbc.edu Composition and rhetoric; technical writing
Mitzi Mabe, Instructormabe@umbc.edu Composition; interpersonal communication; applied behavioral science
Jennifer Maher, Associate Professor jmaher@umbc.edu Rhetoric of technology; critical theory; qualitative research methods; professional communication
Lucille McCarthy, Professormccarthy@umbc.edu Rhetoric and composition; writing in the professions
Anthony M. McGurrin, Instructormcgurrin@umbc.edu 20th century poetry; verse drama; creative writing
Kathryn McKinley, Associate Professorkmckinle@umbc.edu Medieval literature
Michele Osherow, Associate Professor; Director of Judaic Studiesmosherow@umbc.edu Shakespeare; drama; the Bible as literature; Jewish American literature
Nicole Pekarske, Lecturernicolep@umbc.edu Creative writing; composition
Lia Purpura, Artist in Residencelpurpura@umbc.edu Creative writing
Deborah Rudacille, Visiting Professorrdeborah@umbc.edu Visiting Professor of the Practice
Jody Shipka, Associate Professorshipka@umbc.edu Rhetoric and composition; multimodal discourse; activity theory; play theory
Sally Shivnan, Senior Lecturer, Director of Writing and Rhetoric shivnan@umbc.edu Creative writing
Orianne Smith, Associate Professor and Chairosmith@umbc.edu British Romanticism
Holly T. Sneeringer, Lecturerhollys@umbc.edu Composition
Anissa Sorokin, Writing Center Directorsorokin1@umbc.edu Music and composition
Emeritus Faculty    
Kenneth H. Baldwin, Associate Professor Emeritus   American literature; autobiography; popular fiction and film
J. Leeds Barroll, Professor Emeritus  English Renaissance drama and poetry
Linda Benson, Instructor Emeritus   American literature; composition and rhetoric; women's studies
William Edinger, Associate Professor Emeritus  Samuel Johnson; 18th century literature
Joan Korenman, Professor Emeritus   
Lawrence Lasher, Associate Professor Emeritus  
Gail Orgelfinger, Senior Lecturer Emeritusorgelfin@umbc.edu Medieval Studies; Shakespeare