Graduate School Staff

UMBC’s Graduate School staff is ready to assist you. Please refer to the table below to identify the appropriate person to contact.

PHOTO NAME TITLE HOW TO FIND ME CONTACT ME ABOUT
Denise Atkinson

Denise Atkinson

Executive Administrative Assistant to the Dean

datkinson@umbc.edu
410.455.2199

Dean's calendar
conference room booking

MonaAhmad

Mona Ahmad

Technology Coordinator

sahmad@umbc.edu
410.455.2883

PeopleSoft SA Tech Support
Data Collection and SA queries

K. Jill Barr

K. Jill Barr, J.D.

Senior Assistant Dean of Graduate Enrollment

jbarr@umbc.edu
410.455.1337

General matters relating to graduate enrollment
Residency classification

Wendy Y. Carter, Ph.D.

Wendy Y. Carter, Ph.D.

Program Coordinator, Ph.D. Completion Project/PROMISE

drcarter@umbc.edu 410.455.2281

Graduate student retention initiatives

Kathy Coleman

Kathy Coleman

Business Services Specialist

kacoleman@umbc.edu
410-455-1522

Graduate assistantships

Shirl Curtis

Shirl Curtis

Executive Administrative Assistant

sfcurtis@umbc.edu 410.455.3659

Associate Dean's calendar
Dissertation fellowships

Robert H. Deluty, Ph.D.

Robert H. Deluty, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of the Graduate School

deluty@umbc.edu 410.455.2420

Student/faculty mediation
Academic Misconduct
Student grievances
Miscellaneous appeals

Melody T. Knox

Melody Knox

Program Management Specialist

knox@umbc.edu 410.455.2673

Academic Progressions
Leaves of Absences
Graduate School Events
Withdrawal from classes
Post-Baccalaureate Certificate Diploma

Mary Topa

Jamie Lybarger

Admissions Assistant

jamily@umbc.edu 410.455.1787

Admission letter generation
Residency determinations

Kathy Miller

Kathy Miller

Executive Administrative Assistant to the Dean

kamiller@umbc.edu 410.455.2199

Commencement participation of doctoral students and mentors
reports and special projects for the Dean

Lisa Portis Morgan, Ph.D.

Lisa Portis Morgan, Ph.D.

Director, Progressions

limorgan@umbc.edu 410.455.8142

Graduate commencement ceremonies
Doctoral candidacy reception
GPA audits

Kathryn Nee

Kathryn Nee

Domestic Graduate Admissions Specialist

nee@umbc.edu 410.455.2944

Domestic applicants
“no fee” applications
Transfer of credits

Dan Neeley

Dan Neeley

Computer & Information Systems Support Specialist

dneeley1@umbc.edu 410.455.3564

Online Application and ImageNow Technical Support

Scott Phillips

Scott Phillips

Graduate Admissions Specialist

scophi1@umbc.edu 410.455.8741

Certificate and Non-Degree Admissions
Inbound Inter-Institutional Enrollment

Kathy Ruth

Kathy Ruth

International Graduate Admissions Coordinator

ruth@umbc.edu 410.455.2908

International applicants
Transcripts from foreign universities

Janet C. Rutledge, Ph.D.

Janet C. Rutledge, Ph.D.

Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

jrutledge@umbc.edu
410.455.1781

Overall administration and management of the Graduate School

No Picture Available

D. Michael Suica

Recruitment Specialist

suica1@umbc.edu 410.455.3598

Social Media
Information for prospective students
Requests for materials

No Pic

Brian C. Thompson, Esq., M.B.A.

Assistant Dean for Administration, Policy, & Compliance

bthompson@umbc.edu
410.455.3578

Administration & Policy of the Graduate School

Renetta Tull, Ph.D.

Renetta Tull, Ph.D.

Associate Vice Provost for Graduate Student Development and Postdoctoral Affairs
Director of PROMISE: Maryland Alliance for Graduate Education and the Professoriate (AGEP)

rtull@umbc.edu
410.455.2930

Recruitment of under-represented minority students
PROMISE Program, AGEP
Graduate student retention initiatives

Gay Warshaw

Gay Warshaw

Manager, Recruitment and Admissions

warshaw@umbc.edu 410.455.1607

Information for prospective students
Orientation
Graduate School Digest
General inquiries

Patricia Watson

Patricia Watson

Accountant I

patricia@umbc.edu
410-455-1071

Graduate Assistant payroll questions

Patricia Winborn

Coordinator

410.455.2440

Master's Degree Requirements
Graduation Certification Process
Master's Student's Commencement Participation

 

Applicants seeking the status of your application and the application materials received should contact the graduate program to which you applied.

Applicants who desire to defer admission to another semester should call the graduate program to which you applied.

Students who need assistance registering for classes should contact the registrar's office directly at 410-455-2500 or records@umbc.edu.

For all questions regarding international student and faculty visas, please call Ryan William, International Education Services, at 410-455-2624.