UMBC logo
UMBC High Performance Computing Facility
Please note that this page is under construction. We are documenting the 240-node cluster maya that will be available in Spring 2014. Currently, the cluster tara is still available. Please see the 2013 Resources Pages under the Resources tab.
HPCF Acknowledgements

The creation of HPCF would not have been possible without the support of many individuals and organizations. The following information highlights some details. Thanks to all for the help!

The purchase of the 35-node cluster hpc in 2008 was funded jointly by seed funding provided by UMBC and by funds from the individual researchers Larrabee Strow (Physics), Markos Georganopoulos (Physics), Lynn Sparling (Physics), Maricel Kann (Biological Sciences), Curtis Menyuk (Computer Science and Electrical Engineering), Charles Eggleton (Mechanical Engineering), and Dan Bailey (Imaging Research Center).

The extension of the cluster in 2009 became the replacement purchase of the 86-node cluster tara. We thank the following researchers who added to their earlier contribution or joined the effort: Larrabee Strow (Physics), Wallace McMillan (Physics), Markos Georganopoulos (Physics), Raymond Hoff (Physics and JCET), Charles Eggleton (Mechanical Engineering), Ian Thorpe (Chemistry), Bradford Peercy (Mathematics and Statistics), Do-Hwan Park (Mathematics and Statistics), Weining Kang (Mathematics and Statistics), and Ivan Erill (Biological Sciences).

The philosophy of HPCF as a community-based, interdisciplinary core facility was developed in detail in three MRI proposals to the National Science Foundation (NSF).

The acquisition of equipment for the UMBC High Performance Computing Facility is partially supported by the National Science Foundation, whose support we gratefully acknowledge and which requires the following notice: This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grants CNS-0821258 and DMS-0821311. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.