UMBC logo
awards graphic

Join the Celebration

UMBC Presidential Faculty & Staff Awards Ceremony

Thursday, March 28, 2013
University Center Ballroom, 12:30-1:30 p.m.
(A light lunch served at 12:00 p.m.)

Each year, the UMBC community comes together to celebrate the accomplishments of our outstanding faculty and staff.
This year we honor:

Presidential Faculty and Staff Awards

Manil Suri
Professor, Mathematics and Statistics
2013-2016 Presidential Teaching Award

Manil Suri joined the UMBC faculty in 1983. Today, as a professor of mathematics, he has made significant contributions in the field of Numerical Analysis, obtaining hundreds of thousands of dollars in grants for research at UMBC.


Constantine Vaporis
Professor and Director of Asian Studies Program, History
2013-2016 Presidential Research Award

Constantine Vaporis, whose research has dramatically influenced standard histories of East Asia in American coursework, came to UMBC in 1989. His dedication to allowing others to access East Asian culture and history is largely responsible for creation of the Asian Studies Program at UMBC, a
program he has been working to establish for a decade.


Timothy Lynch
Assistant Director, Summer, Winter and Special Programs
2013-2014 Presidential Distinguished Staff Award, Professional Staff

Since graduating from UMBC in 1987, Timothy Lynch’s commitment to student service, has been unwavering in dedication. Lynch joined the UMBC staff in 1993 as part of the Continuing and Professional Studies Department; in 2003 he began serving as the assistant director for the Office of Summer, Winter and Special Programs.


Peggy Major
Program Management Specialist, Honors College
2013-2014 Presidential Distinguished Staff Award, Non-Exempt Staff

Peggy Major joined the UMBC staff in 1995 in the Albin O. Kuhn Library Reference Department. Her diligence in the organization of complex classification systems and assistance in the creation of a library website, during a period of major structural reforms in the building, proved essential in the development the Library’s centrality in the education of UMBC students.


University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Faculty and Staff Awards

James Grubb
Professor, History
2013 University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Award for Excellence in Teaching

James Grubb, who joined the faculty in 1983, has continuously been recognized for his exemplary work and dedication to research and teaching in the classroom. He has earned national recognition as one of the foremost scholars of the Italian Renaissance.


Tülay Adalı
Professor, Computer Sciences and Electrical Engineering
2013 University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Award for Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity

Since joining the faculty in 1992, Tülay Adal? has made numerous, significant contributions to her field, developing a strong research practice supported by lasting, collaborative relationships with local and international organizations and agencies.


Suzanne Ostrand-Rosenberg
Professor, Biological Sciences
2013 University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Suzanne Ostrand-Rosenberg joined the Department of Biological Sciences in 1977 and she has served as the Robert and Jane Meyerhoff Chair of Biochemistry since 2000.


Nagaraj K. Neerchal
Professor and Chair, Mathematics and Statistics
2013 University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Award for Innovative Excellence

Nagaraj K. Neerchal has been a member of the Mathematics and Statistics Faculty since 1986, and is known as an exemplary researcher in the field of applied statistics. Since becoming chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics in 2006, he has developed a reputation as a pioneer for educational and administrative initiatives.


Arlene Wergin
Director, International Education Services
2011-2012 University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Staff Award for Exceptional Contributions to the Mission of UMBC

Arlene Wergin began a career in student advising and international student development in 1981, and has held the position of Director of International Educational Services (IES) at UMBC since 1990.


Janet Magruder
Business Manager, Center for Art, Design and Visual Culture
2011-2012 University System of Maryland Board of Regents’ Staff Award for Exceptional Contributions to the Mission of UMBC

Janet Magruder began working at the Center for Art, Design and Visual Culture (CADVC) over 13 years ago. Her commitment to several programs and organizations at UMBC, and her representation of the University as part of several University System of Maryland committees and boards is part of what makes her contributions to the University continuously successful.



Lee Hawthorne Calizo
Director, Office of Student Life
2013-2014 Jakubik Family Endowment Staff Award

Since joining the staff in 2001, Lee Calizo has helped reshape the face of UMBC for students by envisioning and creating exciting, welcoming campus programs that support our diverse community.


Release time is granted for employees to take part in this event, and everyone is encouraged to attend. All campus offices will remain open and services should continue to be offered. Supervisors and staff are asked to work together to coordinate staffing.

Special thanks to photographers Marlayna Demond and Tim Ford for capturing these headshots.