UMBC Watch

"UMBC is a university that knows how to win! The outstanding efforts of the men and women on our sports teams - and their coaches and staff - make us proud"

--President Freeman A. Hrabowski, III

UMBC Athletes Win Commissioner's Cup Again

August 1, 2000- For the second year in a row, UMBC athletes captured the Northeast Conference's top prize, the Commissioner's Cup. The award is given annually to the school that performs best in the league's 21 championship sports. In 1999, UMBC was the first school to win the Commissioner's Cup in its first year in the NEC.

UMBC earned the men's soccer title in the fall and a women's swimming championship in the winter. In the spring, women's lacrosse won its third consecutive championship. Four UMBC teams ­ men's tennis, women's tennis, men's golf and womenıs softball - took home NEC gold, and the men's baseball team won the regular season championship.

Twenty-nine UMBC scholar-athletes earned spots on the NEC academic honor roll this past spring. Oscar Lopez, a mechanical engineering major with a 3.69 GPA, was named the NEC's top tennis scholar-athlete for the second year in a row. Renee Tirocchi, an engineering major with a 3.53 GPA, was named the NEC's top scholar-athlete in women's lacrosse. In addition, UMBC honored soccer standout Giuliano Celenza, the NEC Player of the Year, and Jen Ecker, who won the NEC Cross Country and 10,000-meter competition, as UMBC's Athletes of the Year.

Four UMBC head coaches also were chosen as NEC Coaches of the Year. They are John Jancuska, the long-time menıs baseball coach; Monica Yeakel, in her fourth season coaching women's lacrosse; men's soccer coach Pete Caringi, an eight-year veteran; and UMBC alumnus Keith Puryear, who has coached the men's tennis team for the past 10 years.

UMBC Watch | UMBC Homepage