UMBC Watch

"It is truly an honor and a privilege to be selected for these awards, and the achievement reflects the University's continuing rise to national prominence."

--President Freeman A. Hrabowski, III

National Honors to President Hrabowski Put UMBC in the Spotlight

September 21, 2001--Two prestigious awards ceremonies this fall will focus national attention on UMBC. On September 25, President Freeman Hrabowski will receive the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, an award honoring extraordinary commitment to education. In October, he will be inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an elite scholarly society with origins dating back to the American Revolution.

The McGraw Prize was established in 1988 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the McGraw-Hill publishing company and to honor its chairman emeritus, Harold McGraw. This is the second year in a row that a Maryland educator has received the McGraw Prize: State Superintendent of Schools Nancy Grasmick was one of last year's recipients. Other past award recipients include the current U.S. Secretary of Education, Dr. Rod Paige; education reformer Theodore Sizer, founder of the national Coalition for Essential Schools; and former First Lady Barbara Bush.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences, founded by John Adams and John Hancock in 1780, includes hundreds of Nobel Laureates, Pulitzer Prize winners, and national and international leaders among its members. The 208 individuals named with Hrabowski to the Academy this year include former U.S. Secretary of State Madeline Albright, filmmaker Woody Allen, composer/lyricist Stephen Sondheim, and the presidents of Dartmouth College, the University of Chicago, the University of Iowa, and the University of Minnesota. The induction ceremony takes place on October 13 at the Academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

UMBC Watch | UMBC Homepage