UMBC Watch

"I am humbled and deeply honored by this award. It also reflects the achievements of our students, who learn to aim high and to focus their efforts on being the best."

--President Freeman A. Hrabowski, III

President Hrabowski Receives McGraw Prize in Education

January 29, 2002--UMBC President Freeman Hrabowski has been named a 2001 recipient of the prestigious Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education.

"Dr. Hrabowski has rigorously promoted excellence in undergraduate education, teaching, research, and graduate education," the McGraw panel of judges said, noting in particular the success of the Meyerhoff Scholars Program that has made UMBC an "elite school for aspiring African-American scientists, engineers, and mathematicians." UMBC, an historically diverse institution, has become one of the leading producers of minority students going on to earn advanced degrees in those fields.

The McGraw Prize was established in 1988 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the McGraw-Hill Company and honors publisher Harold McGraw╣s lifelong commitment to education. President Hrabowski joins a list of past honorees that includes Dr. Rod Paige, the U.S. Secretary of Education, James B. Hunt, Jr., the former governor of North Carolina, former First Lady Barbara Bush, and Maryland State Superintendent of Schools Nancy Grasmick.

UMBC Watch | UMBC Homepage