UMBC Watch

"We are extremely proud of our visual arts faculty for receiving these awards and for their groundbreaking work in the arts. Their talent and creativity contribute enormously to the life of the University."

--President Freeman A. Hrabowski, III

UMBC Visual Arts Faculty Dominate Awards Competition

April 10, 2002--Members of UMBC's visual arts faculty received six of the seven awards given recently by the Maryland State Arts Council for New Genre works--art that incorporates computer technology in its creation or presentation. In addition, four other faculty members received Media awards for excellence in film, video, and audio.

The Maryland State Arts Council's Individual Artist Awards Program is a highly competitive and peer-reviewed program that recognizes and supports work produced by some of the State's most talented artists. Faculty receiving the New Genre awards include Colin Ives, Timothy Nohe, David Crandall, Davina Grunstein, Terry Nauheim, and Department Chair John Sturgeon. Media Awards were presented to Hollie Lavenstein, Amie Siegel, Jill Johnston-Price, and Jorge Castro.

The Department of Visual Arts is a national leader in teaching new technology for visual artists and the department has graduated more than 1,500 students since its inception. Enhanced by the presence of UMBC's Imaging Research Center, the Fine Arts Gallery, and the Albin O. Kuhn Library Gallery, the department offers concentrations in imaging and digital arts, graphic design, film, videography, art history and theory, photography, and print media, complemented by a master's of fine art in imaging and digital arts. More information about UMBC's visual arts faculty, exhibitions, and degree programs can be found on the department's website:

UMBC Watch | UMBC Homepage