UMBC Watch

“We are delighted to have such outstanding faculty at UMBC with distinguished achievements. Their commitment to excellence is key to UMBC’s success both in research and in teaching.”

— President Freeman A. Hrabowski, III


Faculty Achievements Place UMBC Among the Nation’s Best

February 7, 2003 - The number of UMBC faculty receiving prestigious awards for their scholarship continues to grow. Their achievements are reflected in UMBC’s per-capita ranking for such major awards as Fulbright and Guggenheim fellowships, National Endowment for the Humanities awards, and National Science Foundation career development awards. By these measures, UMBC compares favorably with such public institutions as the University of Virginia, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and Ohio State University. For example, UMBC has 10 National Science Foundation career award recipients, an outstanding number for a university of our size.

Recent honors and awards include:

Fulbright Fellowships for foreign study were awarded to Thomas Gindling, associate professor of economics; Brad Humphreys, associate professor of economics; and Zary Seagall, distinguished professor of computer science and electrical engineering. Gindling conducted research in Costa Rica, Humphreys in the Czech Republic, and Seagall in Sweden.

Lena Orlin, professor of English and executive director of the Shakespeare Association of America, received a Guggenheim Fellowship to further her research on Shakespeare and the lower classes in England.

Thomas Cronin, professor of biological sciences, was elected a Fellow of the American Academy for the Advancement of Science for his work on the ecology of animal vision.

Chein-I Chang, professor of computer science and electrical engineering, was elected a Fellow of the Society for Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers in recognition of his achievements in hyperspectral image processing.

Michael Summers, Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and professor of chemistry and biochemistry, received the William A. Hinton Research Training Award from the American Society for Microbiology honoring his success in mentoring underrepresented minorities.

Carlo DiClemente, chair of psychology, received a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Award for Innovation in Combating Substance Abuse that will support his research on addictive behaviors.

Govind Rao, professor and chair of chemical and biochemical engineering, received the Gaden Award from the Biotechnology and Bioengineering Journal honoring the most influential paper published in the previous year. He also was named Maryland Chemist of the Year.

Bimal Sinha, professor of mathematics and statistics, received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the American Statistical Association’s Section on Statistics and the Environment.

Jason Loviglio, assistant professor of American studies, received the J. Franklin Jameson Fellowship awarded jointly by the American Historical Association and the Library of Congress, where he will be conducting research.

Jeffrey Mitchell, associate professor of emergency health services, received the Austrian Red Cross Bronze Medal for his work in training Austrian emergency responders in the management of critical incident stress.

Manil Suri, professor of mathematics and statistics, received a number of awards for his first novel, The Death of Vishnu: the Barnes and Noble Discover Prize; the Ralph Heyne Corrine Buchpreis (Germany); the McKittrick Prize (UK); and a Pen-Bingham Fellowship for 2002-04. His book also was a New York Times Notable Book for the Year, was nominated for the Booker Prize, and was a finalist for the Pen-Faulkner Award, as well as a number of other significant book prizes.

UMBC Watch | UMBC Homepage