UMBC Department of Political Science - Home

Faculty

The Political Science faculty is committed to teaching as well as to research. Faculty members give papers at scholarly conferences throughout the nation, write books and publish articles in the best journals in the profession. At the same time, faculty members are dedicated teachers. They teach all the courses within the department, from the introductory to the most advanced. They are evaluated and rewarded as much by the quality of their teaching as the quality of their scholarship.

Thomas F. Schaller, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
American Politics, American Political Institutions
POLI 100, 323, 327, 425, 428
Office: PUP 314
Phone: 410-455-2845
on-campus: 5-2845
schaller@umbc.edu
Jeffrey Davis, J.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Public law and Human Rights
POLI 230, 334, 337, 339, 438
Office: PUP 316
Phone: 410-455-2181
on-campus: 5-2181
davisj@umbc.edu
Carolyn Forestiere, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Comparative Politics, Western Europe, Institutions, and Research Methodology
POLI 260, 301, 360, 374, 460, 461, 462
Office: PUP 306
Phone: 410-455-8160
on-campus: 5-8160
forestie@umbc.edu
Brian Grodsky, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Comparative Politics, Human Rights, Democratization, Post-Communist Politics
POLI 260, 360
Office: PUP 308
Phone: 410-455-8047
on-campus: 5-8047
bgrodsky@umbc.edu
Devin T. Hagerty, Ph.D.
Professor and Director, Global Studies
International Relations, National Security, South Asia, and Iran
POLI 280, 380, 381, 385, 488
Office: PUP 317
Phone: 410-455-2185
on-campus: 5-2185
dhagerty@umbc.edu
Cynthia A. Hody, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director
International Relations, Political Economy
POLI 200, 280, 380, 480, 487
Office: PUP 305
Phone: 410-455-2193
on-campus: 5-2193
hody@umbc.edu
Laura Hussey, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
American Public Policy and Administration, American Politics, Social Welfare and Morality Policy
POLI 240, 250, 301, 350, 446, 448
Office: PUP 319
Phone: 410-455-6560
on-campus: 5-6560
lhussey@umbc.edu

Arthur T. Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor and UMBC Provost Emeritus
Director, Sondheim Public Affairs Scholars Program
Public Administration, Personal Management
POLI 354, 458

 

Office: AD 1002
Phone: 410-455-2195
on-campus: 5-2195
ajohnson@umbc.edu

Tyson King-Meadows, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and

Chair, Africana Studies
Congress, African-American Politics, Electoral Behavior
POLI 100, 324, 427

Office: PUP 309
Phone: 410-455-2194
on-campus: 5-2194
tkingmea@umbc.edu
Roy Meyers, Ph.D.
Professor
American Politics, Budgeting, Environmental Policy Public Administration and Policy
PUBL 601, 623; POLI 353, 429
Office: PUP 318
Phone: 410-455-2196
on-campus: 5-2196
meyers@umbc.edu

Lisa Vetter, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Political Philosophy and Political Theory

POLI  210, POLI 310, POLI 315, POLI 320, POLI 419

Office: PUP 307
Phone: 410-455-8477
on-campus: 5-8477
lvetter@umbc.edu

Brigid Starkey, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer and

Assistant Director, Global Studies
International Relations, National Security, and Foreign Policy
POLI 390, POLI 395, POLI 486, POLI 489

Office: PUP 312
Phone: 410-455-2142
on-campus: 5-2142
bstarkey@umbc.edu
George R. LaNoue, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Public Law, Educational Policy, Civil Rights
POLI 230, 431, 432, 445
Office: PUP 413
Phone: 410-455-2180
on-campus: 5-2180
glanoue@umbc.edu
Cheryl M. Miller, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus
Public Administration, Policy Analysis, Social Welfare Policy
POLI 230, 431, 432, 445
cmiller@umbc.edu
Nicholas R. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
American Politics, Elections, Methodology, Theory
POLI 100, 300, 325, 388, 423
Office: PUP 321
Phone: 410-455-2187
on-campus: 5-2187
nmiller@umbc.edu
Carol Barner-Barry, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology and Politics, Law, Political Psychology
POLI 223, 352, 435
cbbarry@umbc.edu
Harold Levy, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Legal Studies, Political Theory, American Politics
POLI 473
Office: PUP 359
Phone: 410-455-2191
hlevy@umbc.edu