UMBC logo
Retreat Image Bar

Sustaining Momentum:
Strategies and Practices
for Supporting Programs and People

UMBC University Retreat
August 17-18, 2010

University Retreat Presentations Now Available Online

Sustaining Momentum: Strategies and Practices for Supporting Programs and People was the theme of the 2010 University Retreat held on campus August 17 and 18. More than 200 faculty, staff and students participated. Information presented about University priorities is shared on this site for access by all.

In recognition of the continuing fiscal challenges affecting all faculty, staff and students, one major objective of the retreat was to engage campus leaders in dialogue about planning and budgeting efforts to sustain momentum toward achieving campus priorities involving student success, infrastructure for research and creative achievement, environment and sustainability, and campus safety and security. Deans and vice-presidents led poster sessions about progress on initiatives supporting these priorities. Click on the links below to view the posters.

Poster Sessions

Student Success

First-Year Experience Expansion
Diane Lee, Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
Poster (PDF)

Teaching Innovation/CASTLE
Philip Rous, Dean of the College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
Poster (PDF)

Graduate Programs and Student Success
Janet Rutledge, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

Master’s of Professional Studies Initiatives
John Martello, Vice Provost and President of UMBC Training Centers
Poster (PDF)

Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Aid
Yvette Mozie-Ross, Assistant Provost for Enrollment Management
Poster (PPT)

Infrastructure for Research and Creative Achievement

Infrastructure Investments
Geoffrey Summers, Dean of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
Poster (PDF)

Performing Arts and Humanities Building
John Jeffries, Dean of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

IT Task Force
Jack Suess, Vice President of IT
Scott Farrow, Professor and Chair of Economics

Library Blue Ribbon Committee
Antonio Moreira, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Post-Award Initiatives
Ben Lowenthal, Associate Vice President of Financial Services
David Gleason, General Counsel
Poster (PDF)

Environment and Sustainability

Environmental Programs
Warren DeVries, Dean of the College of Engineering and IT
Poster (PDF)

Climate Action Plan
Lynne Schaefer, Vice President of Administration and Finance
Virginia McConnell, Professor of Economics
Poster (PDF)

Climate Change Initiatives
Joe Rexing, Senior Associate Director of Physical Plant Shops
Joe Hill, Assistant Director of Operations and Maintenance
Poster (PDF)

Campus Safety and Security

Behavioral Risk Assessment and Consultation Team
Kim Leisey, Associate Vice President of Student Affairs
Robert Deluty, Associate Dean of the Graduate School
Poster (PDF)

Mental Health First Aid
Jennifer Lepus, Director of University Health Services
Sue Plitt, Senior Career Advisor
Poster (PDF)

Voices Against Violence
Alison Rohrbach, Assistant Director of University Health Services
Patricia Wick, Staff Psychologist/Training Director
Poster (PDF)

Business and Academic Continuity
Mike Carlin, Assistant Vice President of IT
John Fritz, Assistant Vice President of IT

Emergency Preparedness
Mark Sparks, Chief of Police
Michael Pound, Director of Environmental Safety and Health

Governance and Stewardship

Alumni and Annual Fund Initiatives
Gregory Simmons, Vice President of Institutional Advancement
Poster (PDF)

APB and Faculty Governance Role
Bruce Walz, Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Health Services
Tim Topoleski, Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Poster (PDF)

Professional Staff Senate
Tim Sparklin, MSW, CIM, CIP Administrator, HARPO
Poster (PDF)

Non-Exempt Staff Senate
Terry Aylsworth, Executive Administrative Assistant II, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Poster (PDF)

Graduate Student Association
Rae Sturge, Graduate Assistant III
Poster (PDF)

Student Government Association
Yasmin Karimian, SGA President

Afternoon Plenary: Sustainable Campus Development

UMBC Facilities Master Plan Update
Presentation of UMBC’s newly approved Facilities Master Plan by Freeman Hrabowski, Lynne Schaefer, Joe Rexing, Julianne Simpson and Eric Smallwood.

The Campus as Classroom and Lab
Panel discussion with Suzanne Braunschweig, Jonathan Dandois, Patricia La Noue and Stu Schwartz.
Powerpoint (PPT)