A Conference in Honor of Thomas I. Seidman
Advances in Control of Partial Differential Equations
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
October 28 - 29, 2006




Scientific Program

Social Program

Schedule of Events

Travel Information

Registration Information

Registered Participants



In the 1970s began a sustained interest in the rich and technically demanding control of partial differential equations, (also referred to as control of distributed parameter systems or infinite dimensional systems). The growth of this new part of control theory has gone hand in hand with modern developments in evolutionary partial differential equations, both linear and nonlinear, requiring all the technical apparatus of this field. In honor of Dr. Thomas I. Seidman's outstanding scientific contribution, particularly to this field, this conference on Advances in Control of Partial Differential Equations, on the occasion of his 70th birthday and 35th year of service to UMBC.

Photograph of Dr. Thomas I. Seidman
Dr. Thomas I. Seidman

The conference will feature a scientific program centered around the plenary sessions by the invited speakers:

  1. Roger W. Brockett, Harvard University
  2. Irena Lasiecka, University of Virginia
  3. Suzanne Lenhart, University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  4. Boris S. Mordukhovich, Wayne State University
  5. David L. Russell, Virginia Tech
  6. Héctor J. Sussmann, Rutgers University
  7. Roberto Triggiani, University of Virginia
  8. Jiongmin Yong, University of Central Florida
Additionally, a panel discussion will be dedicated to the discussion of the future directions of the field and a poster session gives all interested participants a platform to present their work. The conference will take place on October 28-29, 2006 on the campus of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). The social program includes a conference banquet on October 28, 2006 and a welcome reception preceding the conference on October 27, 2006.

To be considered for participation in the poster session, you must register by August 27, 2006. The deadline for registration and the hotel reservation is September 27, 2006. See Registration Information and Travel Information for more information.

Organizing committee:
Stuart S. Antman, University of Maryland, College Park
Matthias K. Gobbert, UMBC, chair and main contact
Kathleen A. Hoffman, UMBC

We gratefully acknowledge the funding provided by the National Science Foundation, and by the Department of Mathematics and Statistics and the College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences at UMBC.
We also very gratefully acknowledge the help from Kathy Lee Sutphin in the Dean's Office in setting up this webpage.