UMBC logo

Scholars 201o-2011


Undergraduate Research Awards for 2010-2011 have been awarded for 49 student research projects in disciplines and departments across campus. The funded research projects are being conducted in American Studies, Anthropology, Biochemistry, Bioinformatics, Biological Sciences, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computational Biology, Computer Science, Dance, Economics, Engineering, English, Geography, History, Information Systems, INDS, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Biology, MLL, Music, Music Education, Musicology, Music Performance, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Secondary Education, and Theatre.   Feel free to read the abstracts that summarize each research project, and mark your calendars to attend Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement Day on Wednesday, April 27, 2011 to see these students present their research findings.

Download abstracts files or click the names below to read individual abstracts  

David Bartee, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Michelle Brandenburg, Dance

Abigail Bratcher, History

Vanessa Cheng, Psychology

Laurentina Cizza, Political Science

Geoffrey Clapp, Mathematics, Computer Science

Theresa Columbus, INDS: Performance Art

Colleen Courtney, Chemical Engineering

Thomas Dakermanji, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Payal Daya, Biological Sciences

Krisztina Dér, Music Performance and Musicology

Meredith Donaho, Music and English

Emily Doughty, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Ashley Dyjack, History

John Ellis, Mechanical Engineering

Casey Gray, English and Secondary Education

Krystyna Horn, Biological Sciences

Megha Jacob, Music Education/Pre-Physical Therapy

Natée Johnson, Mechanical Engineering

Sheriff Jolaoso, Computer Engineering

Achsah Joseph, INDS

Nathaniel Kim, Chemistry

Emily Kimak, Interdisciplinary Studies

Dora Korewa, American Studies

Margaret Kott, Biological Sciences

Julianna Kuhn, Geography and Political Science

Colin Leach, History

Chinhui Lin, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Elizabeth Lynch, English

Richard Maduka, Chemistry

Stefanie Mavronis, Political Science

Eliana NessAiver, Soutry De, and Ryan Valenza, Engineering and Physics

Christine Osazuwa, INDS

Asmara Qamar, Biological Sciences

Hannah Rider, Music Education

Christina Ross, Ancient Studies/MLL

Annah Seo, Biological Sciences and Psychology

Sarah Sexton, Anthropology

Shiva Sharma, Information Systems

David Shyu, Computer Engineering

Gary Thompson, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Andrea Thomson, Political Science and Economics

Franki Trout, Dance

Amond Uwadineke, Political Science

Shaun Vain, Theatre

Shelby Vargo, Chemical Engineering

Salma Warshanna, English, Communication and Technology track

John Winder, Computer Science

Jojo Yeoba, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology