UMBC logo

UMBC Wellness in the Workplace

Wellness Initiative Collaboration Team

 

We don't accomplish anything in this world alone ... and whatever happens is the result of the whole tapestry of one's life and all the weavings of individual threads from one to another that creates something.

Sandra Day O'Connor, Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court

The intention of the Wellness Initiative Collaboration Team is to:
  • Partner with each other and with external vendors to provide useful and relevant health and wellness information and learning opportunities for our community.
  • Connect our community with campus health and wellness resources and support.
  • Identify how to integrate wellness practices into the work day in ways that work for various positions and departments.
  • Expand the idea and practice of wellness beyond personal health to include healthy relationships and a healthy work environment.
  • Raise awareness about the correlation between our lifestyle choices and wellness.
  • Encourage commitment to personal responsibility for self-care as well as tending to the health of our community.
  • Encourage sharing these perspectives and practices with others in our community.
  • Identify ways the campus can further support individuals in having a healthy life.

Summary of our Purpose:

  • Raise awareness
  • Provide information and learning opportunities
  • Connect the community to resources & support
  • Encourage commitment & support

 

  Name and Contact Information Department

Kevin Werner, Executive Chef

443-612-8381

kevin.werner@compass-usa.com

 

Chartwells College & University Dining Services

Mark Tarkanick, Marketing Director

443-612-8383
Mark.Tarkanick@compass-usa.com

Chartwells College & University Dining Services

Bob McHenry, Environmental Manager

410-455-2918
bmchenry@umbc.edu

Environmental Safety and Health (ESH)

Katie Birger, Faculty

Health Administration and Policy Program

cbirge1@umbc.edu

Health Administration and Policy Program

Stephanie Lazarus, Specialist

410-455-5745
slazar@umbc.edu

Human Relations
Center for Mediation & Conflict Resolution

Valerie Thomas, Associate Vice President

410-455-3142
Valerie.thomas@umbc.edu

Human Resources (HR)

Terri Werner, Director

410-455-1767
twerner@umbc.edu

Human Resources/Training and Organization Development

Jill Weinknecht Wardell, Training & Development Specialist

410-455-1442
jwardell@umbc.edu

Human Resources/Training and Organization Development

Rochelle Sanders, Director

410-455-3842
rsanders@umbc.edu

Human Resources/Benefits

Lisa Drouillard, Director

410-455-1791
ldrouillard@umbc.edu

Human Resources/Payroll

John Jancuska, Assistant Director Physical Education, Recreation & Intramurals

410-455-1540
jancuska@umbc.edu

Retriever Activities Center (RAC)

Kevin Burdick, Coordinator of Campus Fitness and Wellness

410-455-1539

kburdick@umbc.edu

Retriever Activities Center (RAC)

Dr. Susan Han, Staff Psychologist and Outreach Coordinator

410-455-2472
susanhan@umbc.edu

Counseling Center

Alison Rohrbach, Assistant Director

410-455-1599
arohrbach@umbc.edu 

University Health Services

Mickey Arora, Health Educator

410-455-3752
parora@umbc.edu 

University Health Services

Paul Dillon, Deputy Chief of Police

410-455-3733
pdillon@umbc.edu

UMBC Police Department

Jess Myers, Director

410-455-1605
jessm@umbc.edu

Women's Center

Nikki Peoples, IT Support Associate

410-455-3024

nap1@umbc.edu

 

 

Facilities Management

 

 

 

Updated 03/7/14 10:36

Return to Top